Skip to main content

Sacred Music Collections at CSUDH

Guide to Sacred Music primary source collections at CSUDH

Sacred Music at CSUDH Special Collections

The sacred music collections consist of academic, community, and personal papers relating to the sacred music (church music and religious concert music) created and/or performed by the African Diaspora in Southern California, primarily Los Angeles-based musicians, choirs, composers, and teachers. These collections are comprised of music, books, periodicals, institutional and personal documents, photographs, concert programs and other ephemera, and audio and visual recordings. Materials date from the mid-1800s to the present, with the bulk of the material dating from the 1920s to the 1990s. 

Albert J. McNeil Collection (1920-2012)

Albert J. McNeil is an American choral conductor, ethnomusicologist, author, and founder of the Albert McNeil Jubilee Singers. Materials in the collection consist of records, photographs, programs, clippings, press releases, publications, sheet music, and audio and video recordings that document McNeil's work as the director of the Jubilee Singers, his teaching career, work as choral director for various churches, and his personal life.

Jubilee Singers program Los Angeles Jubilee Singers program
Albert McNeil Jubilee Singers Albert McNeil portrait

 

Hansonia Caldwell Collection (1880-2016)

Hansonia Caldwell Collection (1880-2016)

Dr. Hansonia Caldwell is professor emeritus of music at California State University Dominguez Hills, with academic specialties in music, African-American music history, piano, choral conducting and humanities. She was a faculty member at CSUDH for more than 40 years and founded the CSUDH Jubilee Choir and the African Diaspora Sacred Music and Musicians program. The materials in the Hansonia Caldwell Collection consist of documents, photographs, programs, clippings, press releases, publications, sheet music, and audio and video recordings that document Caldwell's teaching career and professional work, largely at California State University, Dominguez Hills (CSUDH. The collection also contains materials pertaining to her work as the director of the CSUDH Jubilee Choir, the African Diaspora Sacred Music and Musicians program, and her philanthropic and community work.

Don Lee White Collection (1980-2010)

This collection contains the papers, photographs, videos, and musical recordings related to organist, conductor, and musicologist Dr. Don Lee White. The collection documents African-American church music, church history, and the evolution of spiritual music in African-American churches. It also includes several compilations of hymns along with audio and video recordings of church and classical performances.

Don Lee White photograph at piano Don Lee White next to Christmas Tree

 

 

 

Lillie Hill Jones Collection (1930s-1990s)

The collection is comprised of music, primarily African American sacred music such as gospel and spirituals, in a variety of formats, including sheet music, anthologies, and books. The collection also contains personal papers detailing Jones' education,  choral, and church activities, musical education and instructional materials, and  music history.

Lillie Hill Jones