Skip to main content

Online Resources for Faculty

Integrating library services and resources into Blackboard

This page is designed to help you enhance your course by integrating library resources and services into your Blackboard page. Please contact us if you have questions or would like assistance with placing materials in Blackboard. 

Manually format a link for off-campus access

Did you know that you can make almost any library online resource accessible from off-campus? You simply need to add our library proxy information to the resource's permanent URL. Upon clicking the proxied link, you are routed through the MyCSUDH portal, which allows the online resource to recognize you as an authorized CSUDH user. 

The library proxy is:

http://libproxy.csudh.edu/login?url=

And here's how you add it to a permanent URL:

http://libproxy.csudh.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/csudh/detail.action?docID=10081934

Try it out yourself!

Note: not all library online resources use proxy to authenticate off-campus users. See the box below for for provider-specific directions.

Find the permanent URL of an online journal article

EBSCOhost Databases

  • Navigate to the book or article you want to link back to
  • Look for a chain icon with the word "Permalink" on the middle-right of the screen
  • Click on "Permalink," and copy and paste the resulting URL that generates above the article title

EBSCOHost permalink image

ProQuest Databases

  • Navigate to the book or article you want to link back to
  • Copy the webpage URL that appears in your browser's address bar
  • Add library proxy to the URL, either by adding it to the front or using our automatic tool (see top of the page)

  ProQuest stable URL image

 http://libproxy.csudh.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1908218386/F061AD9FB178434CPQ/3?accountid=10347

Find the link for a database

Go to the articles databases list and select your subject from the "All Subjects" dropdown menu.

subject in A-Z Databases

Use the url in the browser to direct your students to this list of databases.

subject database list url

Go to the A-Z Databases and locate the database you'd like your students to use. Right click on the database title and select "Copy Link Location." This will give you a stable url with the library's proxy information already attached. If your students are working off campus, they'll be prompted to log in with their My CSUDH credentials.

right click database title to obtain stable URL

Loading

Link to a book or ebook in the catalog

Use the Library's OneSearch Catalog to search for books by author, title or subject. You can provide your students with a link to the book's record to let them know where to find the book in the library, including items placed on course reserves. 

Please remind students that the Library asks that the students have the call number of the material they wish to check out before going Reserves Desk. If the students need help, staff at the Reserves Desk will be happy to help them.

Use the tabs above to see details on how to provide access to ebooks from our collection.  If your students are working off campus, they will be asked to provide their MyCSUDH username and password in order to access the books in the online collections.

Are you using one of ebooks as a textbook?  Please contact Naomi Moy (nmoy@csudh.edu) so we can add your class information to the Free eTextbooks page on the Library website. 

Use the search box on the Library's homepage to search for all books and media in the CSUDH collection.  Your students will use this same search box to find information on items you have placed on Course Reserves.

screenshot search from library homepage

Once you've located the book, use the permalink tool to retrieve a link that will send your students to information about this item. Making a note of the book's call number for your students is useful, but encourage students to check the availability of their book before coming to the library.

permalink in OneSearch

EBSCO eBooks is a collection of full text eBooks. Users can save or print portions of books, or download whole books for short periods of time. Registering with EBSCO can allows users to create a personal bookshelf, as well as make notes and highlight text in eBooks.

Once you've located your title, click on the ePub Full Text on the left to open the ebook.

epub link in EBSCO eBooks

Use the permalink tool to send your students to the beginning, or a particular chapter of this book.

ebsco permalink content book

Are your students new to using ebooks? Give them a link to the EBSCO ebook tutorial to help them navigate this resource: http://www4.csudh.edu/library/research/tutorials.asp?t=ebooks_ebsco

eBrary is a collection of over 32,000 books selected for the academic library. Users can save or print portions of books, or download whole books for 14 days.  Students can register on the eBrary site to create a personal bookshelf, as well as make notes and highlight text in eBooks.

Once you've located your title, click on the Read Online button to open the content of the book.

ebrary read online button to open content
Use the share link tool to send your students to the beginning, or a particular chapter of this book.

share link tool ebrary (ProQuest) ebook

A pop-up will appear with the link you need.

popup permalink

Are your students new to using ebooks? Give them a link to the ebrary (ProQuest) ebook tutorial to help them navigate this resource: http://www4.csudh.edu/library/research/tutorials.asp?t=ebooks_ebrary

EBSCO and ebrary are the largest of the University Library's interdisciplinary ebook providers, but we also have access to Business Expert Press, Ovid, Sage, Safari, and more. If you need help locating an ebook for your class, contact your liaison librarian for assistance.

 

Loading

Link to or embed videos and streaming media

Go to the A-Z Databases list and select "Streaming Videos and Media" as a Material type to easily find which databases include video content in your course.  

Use the tabs above to see additional details on how to embed videos from the databases in your Blackboard course.

AtoZ Databases by material type video and streaming media

Link to a specific video

Films on Demand videos can be shared with your students by using the Embed/Link tool. Films on Demand allows you to link to a full program (all the segments) or a shorter portion of the video (segment).  If your students are working off campus, they will be prompted to log in using their My CSUDH username and password.

films on demand stable url or permalink

Embed a Films on Demand Video

Use the </>Embed/Link tool in Films on Demand to find the html embed code for Blackboard.  Click on the copy button to copy the embed code.

Films on Demand screen shot showing opening embed code

Go to Blackboard and create an item in a content area, click on the html editor.

blackboard html editor

Paste the embed code in the html code view box, and click "update." You should not need to make any edits to the code.  NOTE: you will only see a yellow box, not the video, until you click submit.

films on demand embed code in html editor

After you click submit, your embedded video should look like this:

films on demand embedded video in Blackboard

What your students will see

If your students are working off campus, when they log into Blackboard, they will see this where you've embedded the video.

Films on demand embedded video login prompt from off campus

Your students will need to log in with their MyCSUDH credentials.  Once logged in they will be able to watch the video in Blackboard.

Link to a specific video

Create a link to a Kanopy video by using the Share tool.

Screenshot of Kanopy database, how to obtain permalink for video

Embed a Kanopy video

Use the share tool in Kanopy to find the html embed code for Blackboard.

Kanopy embed code for blackboard

Go to Blackboard and create an item in a content area, click on the html editor. 

Blackboard html editor

Paste the embed code in the html code view box. Remove the http: before the link, leave the two // in place (src='http://csudh.kanopystreaming....) and click "update."  NOTE: you will only see a yellow box, not the video, until you click submit.

remove the http: from link in Kanopy embed code

After you click submit, your embedded video should look like this:

embedded kanopy video

What your students will see
If your students are working off campus, when they log into Blackboard they will see this where you've embedded the videologin prompt embedded Kanopy video

If the student clicks on Connect Now, they will be prompted to log in using their MyCSUDH credentials. They will then be able to watch the video in Blackboard.

login to view kanopy video

 

 

Link to a specific video

Use the embed tool to find the permalink for your video.

sage find a permalink

Before adding this link to your Blackboard, or sending it out to a class, add the library's proxy information before the link:

http://libproxy.csudh.edu/login?url=https://methods.sagepub.com/video/allyson-holbrook-discusses-questionnaire-design

Embed a Sage Research Methods video

Use the Embed tool to retrieve the embed code for this video.

embed a Sage Research Methods video

Go to Blackboard and create an item in a content area, click on the html editor. 

HTML editor in Blackboard for Sage Research Methods example

Paste the embed code in the html code view box. For Sage Research Methods you do not need to edit any of the code. NOTE: you will only see a yellow box, not the video, until you click submit.

html pop up Sage Research Methods

After you click submit, your embedded video should look like this:

Sage research methods embedded video

The way Sage has configured their embed code, your students will not need to log in to view the video if it is embedded in Blackboard.

Loading

Find copyright information

Faculty members maintain responsibility for providing materials on Blackboard within the copyright laws. For more information see the Copyright Guide.

Collaborate with a librarian in Blackboard

Please contact your college's liaison librarian if you are interested in having a librarian embed in your Blackboard course.  Embedded librarians can provide virtual instruction on research and library resources, monitor a research discussion board, and make recommendations for research resource or assignments.  Your librarian can consult with you on the design of your research assignments, and more.

Research Subject Guides bring together a variety of library and web resources on a particular subject or area of study.  Research Subject Guides are created by the liaison librarian for a specific subject. Link to the Research Subject Guide for your subject area, or embed all or part of a guide in Blackboard using the steps below.

Link to a Research Subject Guide

For a full list of Research Subject Guides visit the library webpage.  Research Subject Guides are organized by college.

Open the guide you'd like your students to use, and use the link in the browser to direct your students to these resources.

NOTE: Please remind your students that they will need to log in with their CSUDH credentials when using library resources from off campus.

Link to a Research Subject Guide

Embed a Research Subject Guide

Embed an entire guide or a specific page in Blackboard by selecting "Library Apps" from the Tools section in

choose "Library Apps" from the Tools bar

Create a name and description for the Research Guide, and click submit.

Click on the link in your content area.

url for embedded subject guide in content area

Chose LibGuides from the LibGuides Site dropdown menu.

choose LibGuides from Site type

Choose a content type from the next dropdown menu.

  • Full LibGuide - Entire multi-page, collection of library and web resources (example).
  • Single Page - One page of a subject guide, for example, Research Methods page of a guide.
  • Content Box - One section from a page of a Research Guide.
  • Databases for Specific Subject + Subject Specialists - list of suggested databases for your subject and the contact information for the liaison librarian
  • Specific A-Z Database - Suggest an individual database to your students.

select content type for embedding a libguide

Choose the guide you want to use.

choose your subject area

Choose Embed Content, and the guide will default to the Research Subject Guide homepage when it loads. If you want the guide to begin on a specific page, choose the page from the Guide Page menu.

Embedding Research Subject Guide

You will be taken back to your content area.  Click on the link again to view or change the embedded information.

edit or view content of embedded research guide

What your students will see:

embedded Sociology Research Guide

The Library has a growing suite of interactive tutorials to help your students with different parts of the research process. Visit our Tutorials page to learn more about individual tutorials, get details on how to install SCORM files in Blackboard, or to find information on troubleshooting tutorials if they don't load correctly.   

Screenshot of library tutorials page

Loading

Suggested resources for teaching online

Motivating and retaining online students cover image

Multi-modal Materials

Suggestions for how to find, cite and when to use multimodal materials.

Interactive Open Educational Resources cover

Open and Affordable Resources Guide

Open educational resources and Affordable Learning Solutions for CSUDH.

Teaching online cover screenshot
Blackboard Essentials for teachers cover shot

Did you know?

Your students have links to the library without leaving Blackboard. Direct them to the library tab at the top of the page.

Tutorials

A page for all library created tutorials.