Skip to main content

CSUDH Library Blog

Online Support at the Library

by CSUDH Library on 2020-03-13T15:35:00-07:00 | Comments

University Library COVID-19 Updates and Online Support

This post contains information related to the University Library's current operations and response to the COVID-19 outbreak, including updates to operations, access to remote services, and other helpful links.

Last updated: 4/3/2020

Library Spaces

Beginning 3/18/20, the University Library will close to public access. The Toro Computer Lab (G-149) is closed as of 3/30/20. For further information on Information Technology's Laptop Loan program, including alternative arrangements for pick-up, please visit their website.

Any future changes to library building and service hours will be announced on this page and updated on our library hours page.

 

Online Research Help

There are many ways to conduct research and receive assistance online! Virtual services through the Research Help Desk are available Monday through Thursday from 8am to 9pm, Fridays from 10am to 4pm, and Saturday and Sunday from 1pm-4pm over chat, email, and Zoom, a free web conferencing tool with video, audio, and screen sharing. 

Not sure how to request an online appointment or use Zoom? See our FAQ on how to schedule an online research appointment and the Academic Technology documentation on Zoom

 

Library Materials Online

You can browse library collections in OneSearch and our Article Databases at any time. Take our OneSearch tutorial to learn more. 

You can also sign in to your library account in OneSearch to save search results and view your current library loans. Sign in to your Interlibrary Loan account to view your active requests. 

 

Extended Returns for Borrowed Materials, Interlibrary Loan, and CSU+

All CSUDH and CSU+ items due back between 3/1/2020 and 8/30/2020 are now extended until August 31st, 2020. We are working to update your due dates as listed in your library account. If you are graduating in spring or summer 2020 and will need to return items, or have any other questions about borrowing or returning library materials, email Library User Services at circulation@csudh.edu.

All Interlibrary Loan items due back after 3/1/2020 are now extended until further notice. If you have an ILL item in your possession, please hold on to it, even if the due date has passed. We are working with the lending libraries to renew these items on your behalf.

For questions about Interlibrary Loan returns or requests, email ill2@csudh.edu. You can also sign in to your Interlibrary Loan account to view your active requests. 

 

Archives & Special Collections

Questions about the Gerth Archives & Special Collections can be addressed to archives@csudh.edu. Due to limited access to our collections, we will be able to answer reference questions only on a limited basis.

Be sure to check our digital collections and or our finding aids on the Online Archive of California.

 

Textbooks & Free Resources

Need online access to your textbook? RedShelf is providing students up to 7 free ebooks from participating publishers. Search for your textbook by title or ISBN to check if it's available. 

Due to increased online instruction as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, many publishers and content providers have temporarily expanded access to online resources free of charge. Check our guide Expanded Access to Online Resources Due to COVID-19 to take advantage of these high quality instructional materials. 

Would you rather listen to your course readings or research materials? The CSUDH University Library, in partnership with the Division of Information Technology, also offers text to speech conversion through SensusAccess.

 

Faculty Resources for Instruction 

Librarians can teach information literacy instruction sessions online using Zoom, recommend relevant research guides and tutorials, and design online instructional materials to support research assignments. Contact your academic college liaison or the Information Literacy Coordinator, Carolyn Caffrey Gardner (cgardner@csudh.edu), to schedule an online instruction session or discuss online learning alternatives.  

 

Faculty Resources for Course Materials

The library can also help instructors add library-licensed course materials in Blackboard such as links to ebooks, streaming videos, and other affordable learning solutions

The library also provides e-reserves for library materials and course materials provided by instructors. At this time, our scanning service for physical course reserve items is suspended. All submissions received prior to 4/2/2020 have been processed. Please contact our Course Reserves department at reserves@csudh.edu with your questions. 

You might also consider finding and using resources and tools that will continue to be free and openly available to you and your students after the crisis is over. Check out the library's OER research guide ​for information on where to look, or contact the Open Education Librarian, Cristina Springfield (cspringfield@csudh.edu).

Need additional online materials to support your course? Fill out our suggest a purchase form and we will contact you with the availability of the item and order it if possible. 

 

Faculty Resources for Copyright

The rapid transition to remote teaching may require you to modify the amount and delivery of copyrighted content you provide via Blackboard. Copyright specialists from the US and Canada have drafted a public statement on fair use and emergency remote teaching & research to help clarify how to evaluate fair use during this period. The University Library also has updated our Copyright research guide with additional useful information. Please contact Digital Initiatives Librarian, Dana Ospina (dospina@csudh.edu), if you need additional assistance.

 

System-Wide Library Services

The 23 California State University (CSU) Libraries are providing expanded support for our students and faculty as we move to a virtual instruction environment. While some steps are purely local, two critical measures result from a system-wide collaboration:

  1. provision of a rich array of expanded, full-text databases and
  2. an extension of library circulation due dates for library materials and dismissal of library fines for continuing students, faculty, staff, and community users.

 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...