LibGuides: Expanded Access to Online Resources During COVID-19: Home

Free and Long-Term Course Materials

Students may be experiencing greater financial stress than usual if they’re not able to work due to the coronavirus. As you redsign your courses, please consider investing your time to try using resources and tools that will continue to be free to you and your students after the crisis is over.

OER textbooks:

Have access that doesn't end (content will not be rescinded at the end of a course)
Do not require students to give up their data (student privacy), unlike some vendor platforms
Require no username or passwords to access, meaning less technological roadblocks
Are usually available as a PDF download, requiring less reliance on consistent internet access

Would you like a librarian to help you look for an Open Textbook for your class? Fill out our consultation form!

How to use this Guide

Due to increased online instruction as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, many publishers and content providers have temporarily expanded access to online resources free of charge. Use the links on the left to navigate by type of resource and take advantage of these high quality instructional materials. Registration requirements and end dates are noted where applicable. PLEASE NOTE: Once the free access to these products has expired, the University Library will not be able to guarantee continued access. We encourage Faculty to make use of these resources if they support online emergency teaching, but discourage using them as a permanent part of the curriculum going forward unless they are Open Educational Resources (which are always free).

You can also browse, search, and access all of the library's online content in OneSearch and the databases page.

For the latest information about library services and operations, visit University Library COVID-19 Updates and Online Support.

Coronavirus, SARS-CoV-2, and COVID-19 Research

Research and information related to the coronavirus from the highest-ranked scientific and medical journals.

CSUDH Course Reserves

Looking for your textbook that you normally pick up at the Course Reserves desk? We may have it online instead! Check this list:

Course Reserves Availability Spring 2020

Books and Textbooks

Ebsco Ebooks
Unlimited simultaneous user access for library-owned ebooks from select publishers. Ends June 30.
Gale/Cengage Unlimited
Free access to textbooks and other course materials, through the remainder of the semester. Registration required.
Harvard Business Publishing Collection
Books on leadership, management, and self-improvement. Highlights include the HBR Guide To… series and the HBR Top 10 Must Reads on…series. Ends June 9.
Internet Archive National Emergency Library
Fiction and nonfiction on every topic in the world, with waitlists removed. Registration required; ends June 30.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is working with university press publishers to make their content open during the crisis.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Unlimited simultaneous user access for library-owned ebooks from select publishers. Ends mid-June.
Redshelf Textbooks
Up to 7 free online textbooks from participating publishers. Students must create an account with their institutional (toromail.csudh.edu) email address. Once they confirm their email, they can sign in and search for books by title, ISBN, author through the borrow your text search box. Once you find a title, click on details for the title you want and look for the BORROW option.
Textbooks on ScienceDirect
Topics covered include: Biology, Business, Computer Science, Engineering, Mathematics, Medicine, Virology, and more.
University of Michigan Press
Please note that titles are only downloadable by patrons of purchasing libraries, with the exception of some titles that are open access. Ends April 30, 2020.
VitalSource
Requires registration. Ends May 25, 2020.
Wiley Textbooks
Instructors can receive free access for their students for the remainder of the Spring 2020 term. Instructors can request access to WileyPLUS or Knewton Alta, and zyBooks.

Journals and Databases

African Diaspora, 1860-Present
100,000 pages of international primary and secondary source documents, and 50 hours of video, curated for the Black Studies, African American History, and World History scholar. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
American Film Scripts Online: Volume I
Bibliographic and biographical database of directors and writers, along with the full text of the movies themselves. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
American Film Scripts Online: Volume II
Expands beyond classic and feature films with 500 new screenplays from StudioCanal, Ealing Studios, Newmarket Press, Warner Brothers, and others. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Annual Reviews
Review articles are Open Access through April 30.
Asian American Drama
More than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Behavioral and Mental Health Online
2,500 videos and almost 3,500 books, documents and transcripts for programs in Counseling, Social Work, Nursing, Medicine, Psychology, and Behavioral Health. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection
Historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 125,000 pages of curated primary and secondary full-text materials including photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
More than 53,000 titles and 1.3 million printable pages of the most important scores in classical music, ranging from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. **Please note: scores cannot be downloaded due to the temporary nature of this trial.** After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Oxford University Press Resource Center
Free resources for instructors and students affected by COVID-19.
Royal Society Publishing
Journals temporarily switched to Open Access.
Social Work Online
Combines video—compelling documentaries and clinical demonstrations—with relevant text content to illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Women and Social Movements Library
Nearly 400,000 pages of primary source documents and more than 200 related scholarly essays on global women's public activism, from 1600 to the present. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive
Unique periodicals from 1945-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture like fashion, rock and roll, sexuality and dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.

Streaming Media

African Diaspora, 1860-Present
100,000 pages of international primary and secondary source documents, and 50 hours of video, curated for the Black Studies, African American History, and World History scholar. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Behavioral and Mental Health Online
2,500 videos and almost 3,500 books, documents and transcripts for programs in Counseling, Social Work, Nursing, Medicine, Psychology, and Behavioral Health. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Counseling and Therapy in Video Library
More than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Dance Online: Dance in Video, Volume I
500 hours of content in modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and more. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Dance Online: Dance in Video, Volume II
Expands on Volume I, providing 400 hours of video that showcase a new catalog of dancers and partners and featuring interviews with key performers and choreographers. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Free Films from Kanopy
Copy and paste the film's URL into a browser. Click "Watch Now." Click on "Find Your University." Type in "Dominguez Hills." Log in with your CSUDH credentials. Available through May 31.
The Great Courses on Kanopy
Click on a film that you want to watch. Click "Watch Now." Click on "Find Your University." Type in "Dominguez Hills." Log in with your CSUDH credentials. Available through May 31.
JoVE STEM Videos
JoVE publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical, and physical research. Content is free through June 15, 2020. Registration required.
LGBT Studies in Video
Cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community, featuring award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Netflix: Educational Documentaries
Select educational documentary features and series produced by Netflix. Click here for links to accompanying educational resources.
Nursing Education in Video: A Symptom Media Collection
Prepares students to understand, assess and manage mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Nursing Education in Video: Third Edition
Medcom's complete collection of 350+ full-length training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.
Social Work Online
Combines video—compelling documentaries and clinical demonstrations—with relevant text content to illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. After clicking on the link, scroll to the database name on the list to access the content. Ends May 26.

Online Learning

IEEE eLearning
60-day free access to online courses on topics such as Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain, 5G, Autonomous Vehicles, IoT, Cyber Security, and much more.