Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Services

Finding Course Materials

The CSUDH Library's research collections are developed and maintained to support the curriculum. As you are designing your course, look to see what resources the library currently has to support course readings, recommended texts, and streaming media.

eBook Collections
Steaming Video Collections

The library also supports course materials through Affordable Learning Solutions and Course Reserves

Linking to Library Resources in Blackboard

Did you know? You can make most of our online library resource available to students through Blackboard for easy off-campus access. You simply need to add our library proxy information to create a stable, permanent URL link to the resource. This lets library databases and vendors know that you are affiliated with CSUDH and have access to those resources. The permalink will prompt you to log in through the MyCSUDH portal first to verify you are an authorized user. 

The library proxy is: http://libproxy.csudh.edu/login?url=

Add the proxy prefix to any link to manually create a permanent URL:

http://libproxy.csudh.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/csudh/detail.action?docID=10081934

Are your students new to using ebooks? Provide a link to our tutorial Using eBooks at the CSUDH Library: https://www.csudh.edu/library/research/tutorials?t=ebooks

ProQuest Ebook Central

Start in OneSearch, or go directly to Ebook Central and located the title of the ebook. Click on the Read Online button to open the content of the book.

ebrary read online button to open content

Next, click on the Permalink (chain) icon to create a permanent URL. You can optionally send students to a specific chapter or page within the book, by navigating to that point within the book and then clicking the Permalink icon.

share link tool ebrary (ProQuest) ebook

After clicking on the Permalink icon, a pop-up will appear with the link you need.

EBSCO eBooks

Start in OneSearch or go directly to EBSCO eBook Collection and located the title of the ebook. Click on "Permalink" to create a permanent URL. You can optionally send students to a specific chapter or page within the book, by navigating to the that point within the book and then clicking "Permalink."

ebsco permalink content book

EBSCO Databases

Navigate to the desired article, look for a chain icon with the word "Permalink" on the middle-right of the screen, then click on "Permalink" and copy and paste the resulting URL that generates above the article title

ProQuest Databases

Navigate to the desired article, click on the "Details" or "Abstract/Details" link underneath the brief article description, then scroll down to "Document URL" and copy/paste the complete link provided.

Go to Article Databases and find the database you want to link to in Blackboard. Select the "Share" icon on the right of the databases, then copy and paste the friendly URL. This URL will redirect you through the library proxy automatically.

PsycINFO database description with share button emphasized

Copy and paste this link into your web browser with https://libguides.csudh.edu/psycinfo emphasized

Films on Demand

Find the video you want to share in Films on Demand. You can link to the full video or select "Segment" to link to a shorter portion of the video. Select Embed/Link and copy the Record URL or the embedded HTML code.

films on demand stable url or permalink

Kanopy

Find the video you want to share in Kanopy. Select the "Share" tool then copy and paste the share link.

Screenshot of Kanopy database, how to obtain permalink for video

Library Course Materials

The CSUDH University Library's Library Course Materials tool in Blackboard is designed to help instructors incorporate library materials in their Blackboard courses. Instructors can use the tool to build reading lists that include books and articles owned by the library, videos, web resources, and more.

Benefits:

  • Instructors search in OneSearch and link directly to resources; no need to deal with off-campus access or permalink maintenance
  • Course materials can be saved and reused in other courses or future semesters
  • Course materials lists are added to Blackboard course navigation so that students have easy access

For more detailed information, see our faculty instructions. For individualized help with choosing resources, contact your subject librarian.

Want a customized demo or training session?

Contact Chris Acosta, Course Reserves Specialist, at reserves@csudh.edu or call 310-243-3678 to set up a time to meet with your department or on your own for more information.

Copyright Guidelines

When selecting and uploading course materials to Blackboard, keep the following copyright and fair use considerations in mind: 

Electronic library resources: If the article or chapter you wish to upload is content we provide access to at the library, please do not upload a PDF, as doing so likely will be in violation of our licensing agreement with the vendor. Instead, please provide a permanent link to the article in Blackboard

Print library resources and non-library resources: When determining whether it is permissible to upload copyrighted content to Blackboard (provided you haven't explicitly obtained permission from the copyright holder), it is essential to determine whether your proposed use qualifies as Fair Use. For a full explanation of Fair Use and guidelines for determining the status of the materials you'd like to use, please see the "Fair Use-4 Factors" section of the CSUDH Library Copyright guide.

Information Literacy Resources

Are you updating your syllabus? Submitting a new or modified course proposal to the University Curriculum Committee? Be sure to include the required Computer & Information Literacy Statement.

We suggest a statement that lets students know how they can receive help with research and information literacy skills: 

The CSUDH Library is here to support you with your information literacy skills. Need to do research but don't know where to start? Searching for a book, article, or data to support your argument? Not sure how to cite a source in your bibliography? Ask a librarian! Research help is available is available through e-mail, chat, appointments, and in-person help at the CSUDH Library’s Research Help desk. For more information and hours please see: https://libguides.csudh.edu/research/help

Research & Subject Guides

Research guides are designed by librarians as a one-stop shop for recommended databases and step-by-step directions for conducting research in a specific discipline. Add the friendly URL to a research guide to add the link to Blackboard. 

Find your subject guide, or use one of our how-to guides.

Tutorials & Frequently Asked Questions

The CSUDH Library provides custom tutorials, videos, and answers for common research questions. Consider including links to these resources in your syllabus, assignment directions, or Blackboard course.