Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSUDH Library Blog

Gerth Archives and Special Collections Acquires L.A. Free Press Archive

by Archives Department on 2021-09-22T15:29:00-07:00 in Archives & Special Collections | Comments

The Gerth Archives and Special Collections acquired the archive of the L.A. Free Press in August 2021. The newspaper was founded by Art Kunkin in 1964 and was in publication until 1978. The L.A. Free Press, or the "Freep" as it was also called, gave voice to perspectives from the anti-Vietnam War among other movements associated with the counter culture, and was one of the first underground newspapers of the 1960s and 1970s. Publishing articles about the Black, Chicano, LGBTQ and leftist communities from 1964-1978, the L.A. Free Press offered a point of view into communities not covered by mainstream news outlets such as the L.A. Times. Gerth Archives staff travelled to Joshua Tree, California to acquire the archive of newspapers and other materials related to the operation and history of the paper, and will be processing the collection over "several years." 

Read more about the Gerth Archives and Special Collections' acquisition of the L.A. Free Press archive on the CSUDH Campus News page.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...