Selected Images
Glenn S. Dumke Collection
CSU Chancellor Glenn S. Dumke shakes hands with President John F. Kennedy at the San Diego State University commencement in June 1963.
CSU Public Affairs Photo Collection
Faculty in regalia and staff with picket signs demanding higher salaries, contracts, reduced and free tuition, and sabbatical release.
CSU Public Affairs Photo Collection
California State Colleges presidents and California Superintendent of Public Instruction, Roy Simpson, circa 1960.
California State University Reports Collection
The California State University System Executives Portraits, circa 1995
Collection Descriptions
- The CSU System Archives Digitization ProjectThe CSU System Archives Digitization Project began in spring 2017. Collections are being selected, digitized, and described from their paper and magnetic audio formats for inclusion in the digital project. The CSU System Archives Digitization Project is generously funded by The Office of the Chancellor.
- CSU Public Affairs Photograph CollectionThe CSU Public Affairs Photo Collection encompasses photographic material from the late 1800s to the early 1990s. The photos in this collection were created or gathered by the CSU Public Affairs Office, which provides consultation and advice to the Trustees, Chancellor, and other staff.
- CSU Board of Trustees CollectionThe Collection of the Board of Trusteed contains records dating from 1937 -1998. All records pertain to actions, events, and consequences brought about by the CSU Board of Trustees.
- CSU Board of Trustees Minutes and AgendasMinutes and agendas of meetings of the various committees of the California State University Board of Trustees (1958-1993).
- CSU Reports CollectionThe collection includes over 3600 reports generated by or about The California State University. The reports consists of analytical, programmatic, feasibility or budgetary reports for planning, administration, academic affairs, the function of the university, and other subjects. The reports are generated from many areas of the system and did not come from one singular entity. This collection was created in the archives to increase researcher access in the CSU Archives.
- California State Board of Education, pre-CSU CollectionMeeting materials from various boards and councils with oversight of education in the state, including the California State Colleges.
- Catalog Collection of The California State University SystemCourse Catalogs of State Colleges from 1933-1995. Catalogs include class descriptions, relevant information about each campus and includes annual, graduate, and summer session catalogs.
- CSU Academic Senate Office RecordsRecords consist of meeting minutes with attachments and resolutions (1963-2000), Executive Committee minutes (1963-1993), Academic Senate newsletters (1969-1996), Advisory Committee of the Consortium (1975-1978), constitution and founding by-laws (1961-1966), and subject files (1963-1993).
- CSU Alumni Council Department RecordsRecords of the CSU Alumni Council Office relating to the "One in a Million Campaign" to locate alumni from the various CSU campuses.
- CSU Chief Administrators and Business Officers Meeting MaterialsMinutes, agendas, and related items of the Chief Administrators and Business Officers (CABO). Topics covered in the minutes include budget processes, environmental health and safety issues, integrated technology strategy, collaborative management systems, and audit planning.
- CSU Staff Council Meeting MaterialsMinutes of Staff Council meetings of various CSU campuses including Hayward (now the East Bay campus), San Diego, San Bernardino, Sacramento, Humboldt, Long Beach, Stanislaus, Northridge, San Luis Obispo, Fresno, Chico, San Francisco, San Jose, Pomona, and Sonoma.
- California Faculty Association/ Congress of Faculty Association NewslettersIssues of the Congress of Faculty Association and later, the California Faculty Association (CFA) newsletter.
- Robert G. Comegys CollectionMaterials are of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) and CSU Academic Senate materials. This includes organizational papers, newsletters, correspondence, bulletins, news clippings, reports and conference papers.
- Dorman L. Commons CollectionMaterials relating to the activities of the California State Board of Education from 1962-1970. Commons was a member of the Board.
- Glenn S. Dumke CollectionMaterials from 1935-1989 include correspondence, photographs, artwork, journals, books, newspaper clippings, microfiche, and artifacts. The bulk of the material is related to professional correspondence. Dumke served as chancellor from 1962-1982.
- James Enochs PapersEnochs was the first Dean of Academic Planning for the California State Colleges. Papers focus on curriculum and graduate programs.
- Eugene Forney PapersPapers of Eugene Forney, an official with the California State University Auxiliary Business Services.
- Louis H. Heilbron PapersHeilbron was a member of the Board of Trustees and was active in the formation of the CSU System. Items in the collection include correspondence, publications, manuals, professional organization and conference materials, and reference materials.
- Theodore Miriam PapersPapers of Theodore Miriam, member of the CSU Board of Trustees, chairman of the State College Council of California (1951-1953) and Chairman of Chico State College Advisory Board (1950-1960).
- Charles B. Reed PapersChancellor's Office Collection, the papers consist of personal and administrative records relating to the System and his role as chancellor from 1997-2012.
Related Resources
- The Donald R. Gerth PapersMaterials consist of correspondence, CSU Committee files, biographical materials, speeches, writings, and research relating to the history of the California State University System including his book, The People's University (2010), reports relating to higher education, and photographs.
- The CSU Resource CenterThe CSU resource center holds more recent documents created by various divisions at the System level and generally originating from the Office of the Chancellor.
- Board of TrusteesThe Board of Trustees assumed responsibility for the California State Colleges on July 1, 1961. The governor, Edmund G. (Pat) Brown appointed the first sixteen members of the twenty-one member board. The remaining five members were ex officio officers. UFor the current reporting structure see the Board of Trustees page of the System's website.
- The Office of the ChancellorThe Office of the Chancellor is the headquarters of the CSU system. The administrative offices have changed and grown since the creation of the system headquarters. For more information about the current administrative officers, see the Office of The Chancellor administration pages of the System's website.
- Cal State Student Association
This link opens in a new window
The Cal State Student Association, also known as CSSA, is a nonpartisan, nonprofit student organization founded by student body presidents in 1959. - CSU Academic Senate
- This link opens in a new window
The Academic Senate of the California State University consists of fifty-three faculty members elected by their colleagues at the twenty-three individual universities comprising the California State University system. The Academic Senate, founded in 1963. - The California State University Identity TimelineChronological list of name, identity, and symbol changes of The California State University System.
- The California State University HistoryA brief history of The California State University System.
- The California State University System LeadershipList of chancellors, trustees, and presidents of the System, past and present.
