Skip to main content

Reading Rooms: Home

Reading Rooms

Image of main reading room in the Gerth Archives.
Reference Reading Room

Request and view materials from our collections and browse books related to CSU and local history.

The Gerth Archives supports the research and teaching needs of students, faculty and staff at CSUDH, and provides access to our unique materials for the needs of visiting scholars and the community.

See Reading Room Guidelines

Located on the Fifth Floor of the University Library South (LIB 5039)

Image of Multicultural Reading Room at CSUDH.
Multicultural Reading Room

Books donated by the community related to art, history, cultures from around the world. Books cannot be checked out or borrowed at this time. Also serves as quiet space for readers by appointment only.

Contact Library Administration at (310) 243-3700 for requests to use this space or to donate materials.

Located on the Fifth Floor of the University Library South (LIB 5021)

Rare book room in the Gerth Archives at CSUDH.
Rare Books Room

Published materials from the 15th-21st century to be used in the reading room. Books are available for browsing, but staff will pull individual books for you.

Available M-F 9am-4:30pm for special projects relating to 20th century literature and 19th century exploration; and presentations or faculty meetings related to special collections.

Located just inside the Archives Reading Room (LIB 5039)

Multicultural art gallery of African art at CUSDH.
Multicultural Art Gallery

Exhibition of fine art on loan from the Picture Art Foundation, including African sculpture, ceremonial masks, and tapestries.

Contact Library Administration at (310) 243-3700 for tours of the gallery.

Located on the Fifth Floor of the University Library South (LIB 5015)

Reading Room Guidlines

Because our collections are unique and not found elsewhere, we also serve the needs of visiting scholars and the community, and therefore, the stacks are closed to researchers. This means, we do not circulate our collections and the materials are available for reading room use only.

In order to ensure the preservation of our collections for current and future researchers, we ask that you follow these simple rules listed below:

General guidelines

  • Registration is required upon entering the reading room. See the front desk staff for details.
  • The Reading Room and computer terminals are reserved for patrons using archival materials.
  • Materials cannot be requested one half-hour before closing.
  • Materials do not circulate and must not be removed from the reading room.
  • Patrons can browse books, but staff must remove books from the shelves. Browsing is not permitted in the Rare Book Room.
  • Please limit conversation to avoid disturbing others.
  • Eating, drinking (including covered beverages), and use of cell phones and other electronic entertainment devices are absolutely prohibited without earbuds.

Proper handling of materials

  • Note paper, pencils, laptop computers, and research materials are permitted at work tables. No pens,  coats, backpacks, briefcases, or other items are permitted. These must be stored in designated lockers.
  • Items will be brought to the researcher.
  • Researchers may have one folder, one photo box or one book on the research table. Other materials should be on a cart.
  • Remove 1 (one) folder at a time. Place an "Out" marker where the folder was removed. 
  • Place the folder flat on the table, and do not remove or shift items in a folder. 
  • Do not remove photographs from their sleeves without permission. No post-it should be attached to materials.

Reproduction

  • US Copyright Laws allow for the reproduction of materials for educational and personal use. 
  • Reproductions from our department may not be published in any form without written permission from copyright owners.
  • Some materials may be copied by patrons, depending on the condition of the item. Consult staff if you require reproduction of materials.
  • For items requiring staff handling, we will make every effort to get materials copied within 24 hours. Some materials may not be photocopied, including rare books and fragile, oversized and bound manuscripts.
  • Cameras are permitted but must follow photocopy and copyright policies. Scanners are not permitted without permission.