Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives Before You Visit: Home

Before You Visit

Are you visiting the Gerth Archives & Special Collections for the first time?

Watch this short (1 min.) video about what to expect. 

Archives 101

A brief introduction to the who, what, when, and how of archives at CSUDH as well as some important "dos and don'ts."

Reading Room Guidelines

Food, Drinks, and Personal Belongings

Food, drinks, and the use of pens are not allowed during your research. Backpacks or other items should be stored in a locker. You may use pencils, laptops, and paper during your time in the reading room. Photography without flash is permitted with the permission of the archives.

  Collections Handling

The department will advise you on how to handle collections. Special handling may be required for fragile items. In general, a single folder from a single box can be viewed at any given time. Items in folders are to be kept in the order in which they are sorted. Materials are to remain flat and the desktop surface. This is especially necessary when handling fragile items, or items that customarily are held in different ways, such as newspapers. We do not require gloves when handling manuscript materials, but if gloves are required, we will provide white cotton gloves during your research. 

Duplication

Please consult with staff before taking photographs or making copies of research materials. 

Ask Questions

When in doubt, ask us! Archives & Special Collections is here to help introduce you to primary source research and guide you in a successful research experience!