Skip to main content

CSU System Archives: Home

CSU System Archives

The CSU System was brought together by the Master Plan for Higher Education in 1960. The Dominguez Hills campus was designated as the System’s archival repository in 1979. As each of the CSU campuses has its own campus archives, the CSU Board of Trustees designated the CSU Archives as the repository for materials of system-wide importance. The CSU System Archives consists of documents, oral histories, minutes, memos, and reports of the CSU System includes:

  • records of the Board of Trustees
  • Office of the Chancellor
  • Academic Senate
  • the Master Plan for Higher Education
  • other offices and committees

Mission of the CSU Archives

The mission of the California State University Historical Archives is to collect, preserve, and create access for materials relating to the formation and progress of the system. This mandate complements the efforts of individual campus archives to collect and preserve materials that pertain to the historical development of their own campuses; only materials of system-wide impact are maintained by the CSU Archives.

Resources

Icon for all finding aids.

CSU System Archives Finding Aids

CSU System collection descriptions in our database.

Browse 

Researc Guide Icon for all Research Guides.

California State University System Archives Research Guide

A guide to the California State University System Archives and related resources.

Browse
Icon for all digital collections.

California State University System Archives Digitization Project

A curated selection of content from several record groups and collections of the Archive.

Browse