Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerth Biography & Dedication: Home

Gerth Biography & Dedication

Life and Early Career

Dr. Donald R. Gerth, former President of California State University Dominguez Hills, was born in Chicago in 1928. After attending Chicago Public Schools. He earned a Bachelor’s degree in liberal arts from the University of Chicago at the age of 18 in 1947, and received his Masters degree in 

Donald and Beverly Gerth photograph

political science in 1951. While earning his M.A., he served as a Field Representative in Southeast Asia for the World University Service for one 

year, and also as assistant to the President at Shimer College. In 1952 Gerth was commissioned as a Southeast Asian specialist in the U.S. Air Force. He also served as lecturer in history at the University of the Philippines. In 1955, he married Beverly J. Hollman. In 1956 he was discharged from the Air Force as a Captain.

Between 1956 and 1958, Gerth completed his PhD studies in political science at the University of Chicago, earning his PhD in 1963 upon the completion of his dissertation entitled "The Government of Public Higher Education in California". During this period, he served the University as Admissions Counselor and Assistant to the Director of Admissions.

Gerth began his career with the California State Colleges System in 1958 when he was appointed Associate Dean of Students for Admissions and Records and government instructor at San Francisco State College. He provided staff support on admissions issues for the group that shaped the California Master Plan for Higher Education in 1959-1960. After completing his dissertation, Dr. Gerth was appointed Deputy Dean for Institutional Donald Gerth and CSU Archives Creation Team photographRelations and Student Affairs for the California State Colleges System and served as staff representative to the Coordinating Council for Higher Education committee. This assignment was followed by twelve years (1964-1976) in several roles at Chico State College, in the faculty as well as administration. In addition, Dr. Gerth served on several task forces starting in 1965, concerning issues like fiscal responsibility, international education, foreign student programs, admissions, and relationships with other California colleges and universities.

Dr. Gerth’s wife Beverly Gerth’s role as philanthropist, partner, host, and university supporter is well-known throughout the CSU. They have two daughters, five grandchildren and three great-grandchildren.

Mid Career: CSU Presidential Appointments

In 1976 Dr. Gerth was appointed as the second President of California State University Dominguez Hills (1976-1984). At Dominguez Hills, Gerth brought the Olympic Velodrome to the campus during the 1984 Los Angeles Summer Games, and worked to stabilize the young university. In Donald and Beverly Gerth with Chancellor Ann Reynolds photograph1984 Dr. Gerth was appointed President of California State University Sacramento (1984-2003). At Sacramento he established the Center for California Studies. By the time of his retirement he was highly respected internationally and nationally as the "Dean of CSU Presidents."

Outside of service to the CSU, Dr. Gerth has been actively engaged in promoting civic endeavors. In 1995 Dr. Gerth chaired the United Way Board of Directors and in 1996, became Founding Chair of the Northern California World Trade Center. From 1996 to 1999, Dr. Gerth served as president of the International Association of University Presidents. In addition to several other international contributions, Dr. Gerth also served as a member of the governing board of the United Nations University. In 2000, the Sacramento Chamber of Commerce named Dr. Gerth Sacramentan of the Year. In 2001, Dr. Garth was honored for outstanding contributions to the arts by the Arts and Business Council and in the next year was honored by World Trade Centers for distinguished service.

Scholarly Works

Dr. Gerth has written numerous articles and papers on public policy affecting higher education, and is co-author and editor of An Invisible Giant, a title concerning the formative years of the California State University. In 2010, Gerth published The People’s University: A History of the California State University. This monograph documents the unique contributions of the California State Universities to the state and the nation. 

Throughout his career Dr. Gerth has been a champion of archives. In addition to helping establish and grow the CSUDH Archives, he helped establish the CSU Systemwide Archives that houses the records of the CSU System, located at CSUDH.

Gerth Archives Dedication 2014Greg Williams at podium, Donald and Beverly Gerth sitting, photograph

As part of the investiture ceremonies for President Willie Hogan, the University Library held a ceremony to honor former CSUDH President Dr. Donald R. Gerth and his wife, Beverly J. Gerth on May 2nd, 2014. In recognition of the Gerths’ generosity and service to CSUDH, the library’s archives department was named the Donald R. and Beverly J. Gerth Archives and Special Collections. Provost Ellen N. Junn, Dean of the Library Sandra Parham, Gerth Archives Director Gregory L. Williams, and the Gerths all provided remarks to commemorate the occasion.

"While the inauguration activities have been focused on celebrating our excellent programs, faculty, staff and students with an eye toward future opportunities and growth, the celebration of our historical accomplishments is an important part of who we are as a community," said Carrie E. Stewart, vice president for University Advancement. "The naming ceremony was just one opportunity to recognize the investments of leaders of the past who have helped us become the institution that we are today."

Throughout their 50-year association with the California State University System, Donald R. and Beverly H. Gerth have not only greatly contributed to the progress of what Dr. Gerth calls "The People’s University," but they have also contributed to the success of California State University Dominguez Hills. Dr. Gerth helped to establish the archives at CSUDH and brought the CSU Systemwide Archives to CSUDH in 1979. Dr. Gerth served as the second President of CSUDH from 1976 to 1984, chaired the CSU Archives Committee until 2010, and brought the 1984 Olympics to CSUDH. He also served as President of Sacramento State University for 20 years. Beverly Gerth has been his steadfast partner in the operation of the universities he has administered. She has long been a gracious supporter of CSUDH and the University Library. With the help of the CSU Archives, the Gerths produced a history of the CSU System entitled "The People’s University: History of California State University".

Provost Ellen N. Junn, Dean of the Library Sandra Parham, Gerth Archives Director Gregory L. Williams, and the Gerths all provided remarks to commemorate the occasion.

Donald and Beverley Gerth at the Gerth Archives dedication.

Donald and Beverly Gerth speak and the dedication of the Gerth Archives and Special Collections at California State University Dominguez Hills.

Image of the unveiling of the Gerth Archives sign.

The official sign for the Donald R. and Beverly J. Gerth Archives and Special Collections is unveiled.

Sandra Parham at the Gerth Archives dedication.

Sandra Parham, Dean of the University Library at California State University Dominguez Hills (now Library Director at Lipscomb University, Nashville, TN), speaks at the dedication of the Gerth Archives.

Greg Williams at the Gerth Archives dedication.

Greg Williams, Director of the Gerth Archives and Special Collections Department, speaks at the dedication ceremony.

Dedicatory plaque of the Gerth Archives.

A close view of the dedicatory plaque for the Donald R. and Beverly J. Gerth Archives and Special Collections at California State University Dominguez Hills.

Ellen Junn at the Gerth Archives dedication.

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Ellen N. Junn (now President of CSU Stanislaus) speaks at the dedication of the Gerth Archives and Special Collections.

David Leveille and Sandra Parham at the Gerth Archives dedication.

David Leveille, Director of Institutional Relations and former administrator at CSUDH, at the dedication of the Gerth Archives and Special Collections poses with Library Dean Sandra Parham.