Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSUDH University Archives

CSUDH University Archives

The CSUDH University Archives preserves the institutional memory of the campus and comprises collections relating to:
  • CSUDH Presidents
  • the Academic Senate
  • academic departments
  • student experiences
  • the establishment of the university

The CSUDH Archives also contains collections that chronicle the history of the campus, from its origin as South Bay State in 1960, as demonstrated by the original A. Quincy Jones plans for a site on the Palos Verdes Peninsula that was later abandoned, to the University's present name and location, which were established in 1966.

Collection Highlights

Tradeswomen moving wood beam

Collection Highlights

 

The collection includes materials related to the creation of California State College (later University), Dominguez Hills. Reports, correspondence, legislative bills, studies, maps, photographs, and news clippings document the state of California’s decision to build a college in the South Bay area of Los Angeles County. There are also papers, correspondence, and news clippings related to the college gathered by A. Quincy Jones, the Master Architect for the campus.

Includes records from the administrations of Leo Cain, Donald Gerth, Richard Butwell, John Brownell, Robert Detweiler and others.

Contact Us

For questions about collections or to make an appointment, contact us at:

(310) 243-3895
archives@csudh.edu