Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research

 Questions about tutorials?

Contact Tessa Withorn (twithorn@csudh.edu), Online Learning Librarian, to learn more about tutorials. For more information how you can partner with the library to teach information literacy at CSUDH, contact the Information Literacy Coordinator, Carolyn Caffrey Gardner (cgardner@csudh.edu).

Resource Icons

= Video
= Tutorial or online activity
= Handout or guide

Searching

Web browser with text on the left and OneSearch on the right.
OneSearch Updated

A quick tutorial on using OneSearch to find library materials with hands-on practice.

Start
Web browser with search bar and text cursor.
Developing Keywords

An interactive tutorial on developing research questions, keywords, and narrowing a topic.

Start
Preview of Choosing a Library Database video.
Choosing a Library Database

Find a list of library databases and filter by subject to find database for your topic or major.

Watch
Preview of Searching in a Library Database video.
Searching in a Library Database

How to use keywords and connectors to search in a library database.

Watch
Resource link to full text in CSUDH Library OneSearch.
Finding the Full Text

How to find the full text of an article in CSUDH Library's OneSearch.

Watch
OneSearch results for climate change with my favorites pins highlighted.
Saving Your Results in OneSearch

How to save searches and items in CSUDH Library's OneSearch.

Watch
Preview of Connecting to Google Scholar video.
Google Scholar

 Use the cite, cited by, and CSUDH Library link features in Google Scholar.

Watch
Preview of Citation Tracking video.
Citation Tracking in Google Scholar

Find relevant studies in references and using "Cited by" in Google Scholar.

Watch
Web browser with text on the left and PsycINFO on the right.
PsycINFO

Using PsycINFO to find studies using filters and a subject thesaurus.

Start
Web browser with text on the left and Opposing Viewpoinst in Context on the right.
Opposing Viewpoints

Finding and using sources from Opposing Viewpoints for ENG 110/112 or THE 120.

Start
Web browser with text on the left and CINAHL on the right.
CINAHL

Using CINAHL for Nursing and Healthcare research to find original research studies.

Start
Preview of Asking Clinical Questions video.
Asking Clinical Questions

 PICO framework for asking clinical research questions and a case study patient interview.

Watch Discussion
Preview of PubMed video.
PubMed

How to find research articles in PubMed through the CSUDH Library.

Watch
Preview of Company Research video.
Company Research

Find company information through Google and SWOT analyses in a library database.

Watch
Preview of Education Databases video.
Education Databases

How to find education related scholarly articles through the CSUDH Library.

Watch
Preview of Finding Tests and Measures video.
Finding Tests and Measures

Find tests and measures to use for a research project in PsycTESTS.

Watch
Preview of Searching for .gov Sources video.
Statistics and .Gov Sources

Searching in Google using site:.gov to find government web pages and statistics.

Watch
Web browser with WestLaw secondary sources search for cannabis sales.
Legal Research

Searching for primary and secondary legal sources in WestLaw and Google Scholar.

Watch
Preview of Looking for a Book? Start in OneSearch.
Books & eBooks

 A quick guide to finding books on the shelf, reading ebooks, and finding course reserves.

View
Paper with unlocked lock.
Access, Power, & Privilege Updated

 A choose-your-own-scenario activity highlighting barriers to accessing research.

StartDiscussion
Computer screen with classification cards on top
Queering Classification

This video discusses classification systems, library organization schemas, and the power of naming using examples of queer identities.

Watch

Evaluating Sources

Preview of All About Peer Review guide.
All About Peer Review

+ + A mix of resources about peer review and reading research articles.

View
Paper with magnifying glass.
Evaluating Information Updated

A tutorial on evaluating online information based on an information need.

Start
Computer screen with archival box and magnifying glass.
Analyzing Primary Sources New

Practice a framework for analyzing primary sources for the humanities and social sciences.

Start
Preview of fairness and balance video with newscaster image
Media & News Literacy New

+ +  A mix of resources about evaluating news and other online sources.

View

Citation

Papers with blank text and check mark.
Understanding Academic Integrity

A tutorial on plagiarism, academic integrity, and citing sources.

Start
Preview of CSUDH Library Citation guide.
Citation

Guides for using citation styles such as APA and MLA.

View
Cover of APA Manual of Style 7th edition.
Getting Stated with APA

A tutorial introducing APA 7th ed., including in-text and references.

Start
Cover of MLA Handbook 8th edition.
Getting Stated with MLA

A tutorial introducing MLA 8th ed., including in-text and Works Cited.

Start
Cover of Chicago Manual Style 17th edition.
Getting Stated with Chicago New

 Tutorial for Chicago Style 17th ed., including notes and bibliography and author-date systems.

Start
Journal cover for Ecology Ecological Society of America.
Ecology Style Citation

A brief introduction to citing sources using Ecology style.

Watch

Tours

Mobile phone with headphones and CSUDH Library logo on the screen.
Library Self-Guided Tour Updated

New to using the library's website and online resources? Learn more on your mobile device!

Start
Preview of Before You Visit the Gerth Archives video
Gerth Archives

Before you visit the Gerth Archives & Special Collections on the 5th floor of the library!

Watch

Troubleshooting

If you're experiencing technical errors for a CSUDH Library tutorial, chat with a librarian

For interactive tutorials that use Adobe Flash Player (i.e. Developing Keywords), please note that as of 2021, Adobe has ended support for Flash.

All other tutorials include individual technical requirements that are displayed on the first page. In general, please note that...

  • Most tutorials are not compatible with mobile devices (i.e. phones, tablets) at this time
  • Most tutorials require you to log in using your CSUDH username and password using the CSUDH Authentication Service to access the library's subscription resources
  • Some tutorials work best using a recommended web browser (i.e. Firefox, Edge, Safari
  • Text that includes hyperlinks will open in a new tab

For Instructors

How do library tutorials engage students? 

The majority of the library's tutorials are on a platform (called SpringShare LibWizard) that is designed for side-by-side guided activities, such as watching a video and answering questions or following directions to interact with and learn how to use or reflect on a variety of online instructional materials. Tutorials typically include some combination of: 

  • Short how-to videos with audio or captions
  • Guided searching or evaluating a resource with text-based directions
  • Stand-alone visual representations of processes, such as infographics or decision trees, with no audio. Print and screen reader-friendly versions of these materials can be download from the tutorial
  • Most activities are paired with questions for comprehension or reflection
  • Information about ways to get research help, including library services and other resource guides 

Are library tutorials accessible? 

We are committed to making our online instructional materials as accessible as we can. Please ask your students about their needs, and if you know that a student cannot complete a tutorial for technical reasons (e.g. no access to a desktop or laptop, visual impairment), please contact us and we will provide you and your student with an accessible alternative to learn the same material.

How can I assign a tutorial as a graded assignment? 

All of our library tutorials include an option for students to download a PDF certificate of completion that will look something like this: 

Example of a CSUDH Library tutorial certificate.

Certificates should include a student's first and last name, the name of the tutorial, and the date and time they completed the tutorial. 

To set up a tutorial assignment in Blackboard: 

1.  Add a link to the tutorial in your Blackboard course anywhere students can easily find it that also includes the due date and a brief explanation for how the assigned tutorial will benefit students or fit into the course.

Example: You will need to find and use at least two scholarly articles for your upcoming assignment. In this tutorial, you'll learn how to find these kinds of sources using the library's resources. 

I also recommend including this information in your syllabus, if possible.

2. Create an assignment in Blackboard. Set a due date and number of possible points. I recommend using the library's tutorials as "low-stakes" assessments and weighing the grade for a tutorial with an equivalent to participation points (e.g. 5/5), just for completing the tutorial. Check that .pdf file type uploads are accepted.

If you have additional questions about what students are learning in a tutorial, and how the library uses this information, skip to the next question. 

3. Once students have completed the tutorial, they will be directed to download their certificate of completion and submit it to your Blackboard course assignment.

How will I know students have learned from the tutorial? 

The library's primary goal in providing tutorials is to support students in their learning!

All library tutorials include attainable learning outcomes that should align with the appropriate level for your course (orientation, general education, in the major, graduation) and the library's information literacy program.

If there is a correct answer to a question, students will be guided to answer correctly through immediate feedback and tips. 

Some questions are open or free response. These are designed with no one correct answer in mind and may encourage students to reflect on their prior experience and the knowledge they already have! We believe this empowers students to be curious, ask questions, and find answers on their own, either in the tutorial or from their own prior experiences.

How does the library protect student privacy? 

Library tutorials collect the following information once you click the Submit button at the end:

  • First & Lame Name
  • Date & Time Completed
  • All responses from required questions
  • Anything students choose to include in a non-required question
  • Location from an IP address
  • The website that referred the tutorial link (e.g. Blackboard, library website, Google search)
  • Web browser used to completed the tutorial

The library's information literacy program is committed to only using data from our tutorials to:

  • protect people from harm
  • support student success 
  • improve our instructional materials and techniques

We value data internally and ethical research procedures that protect people (e.g. Institutional Review Boards), but we believe that data shared with us belongs to their original creators, unless otherwise stated. 

We primarily use tutorial responses to assess online learning initiatives in our information literacy program, which are submitted to the University Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Committee. We may also share anonymous question responses with instructors for their own department or program assessment, or in our research, as required by our faculty status.

If you or your students are concerned about how we use of their personal and academic information from a library tutorial, please contact us and we will find an alternative. 

Additional questions? 

If you have questions about an existing tutorial, are interested in a custom tutorial for your class, or just what to let the library know how assigning a tutorial is going, let us know! 

Email Tessa Withorn (twithorn@csudh.edu), Online Learning Librarian.