Skip to main content

Gerth Archives & Special Collections: Home

Donald R. & Beverly J. Gerth Archives and Special Collections

The Gerth Archives and Special Collection at the CSUDH University Library is home to our university archives, digital and special collections, rare books, and the archives of the California State University. We support campus, community, and visiting researchers, and encourage students to discover primary sources. Learn more about the Gerths →

Image of University Library building. Text with Gerth Archives & Special Collections.

Digital Collections

Photographs and documents from the university and region available online.

Browse
B&W photograph from CSUDH University Archives of Homecoming Court '83-'84.

CSUDH University Archives

Photographs, documents, audio, video, and artifacts from and about CSUDH.

Browse
Image of Dominguez Ranch deed with cattle brand.

Special Collections

Collections about South Bay of Los Angeles, regional, and state history.

Browse
B&W photograph from CSU System Archives of opening ceremony.
CSU System Archives

Historical record groups and collections of the System and executive offices.

Browse
Image of rare book from Gerth Archives & Special Collections.
Rare Books

Unique books of historic value and books from collections in the Gerth Archives.

Browse
Exhibit case of archival material in the Gerth Archives & Special Collections at CSUDH.
Exhibitions

Current archival exhibits in the archives and online.

Browse

Collection Highlights

Mr. Takano

See more photographs from the Ninomiya Studio Collection in the California State University Japanese American Digitization Project.

Two men on top of building with downtown Los Angeles

1910 Air Meet Digital Collection

See more images from the 1910 Los Angeles International Air Meet held at the CSUDH campus location.

1910 Air Meet Photograph

Library Construction, 1971

See more images from the CSUDH Photograph Collection.

four individuals in front of library construction site in 1971

Kumekichi Ishibashi with Children

Learn about the Ishibashi Family Collection from the collection's finding aid.

Photograph of Kumekichi Ishibashi with Children from Ishibashi Family Colleciton

Japanese American/Peruvian Collections

See our topic research guide on the history of Japanese Americans and Japanese Peruvians.

Screenshot of the Japanese American and Japanese Peruvian archival guide.

Faculty and staff demonstration

Browse images and text in the California State University System Archives Digitization Project.

Faculty protest photograph from the California State University System Archives

Magic Johnson speaks at CSUDH

See more photographs from the CSUDH Photograph Collection.

Black and white image of Magic Johnson from the CSUDH Photograph Collection.

Tradeswomen Archives and Labor Studies Collections at CSUDH

See our topic guide for primary source collections related to labor studies and collections in the Tradeswomen Archives Project.

Tradeswomen LibGuide Icon

Madrona Marsh Preserve Collection

Learn more about environmental collections at CSUDH.

man holding butterfly

Albert J. McNeil Collection

Learn more about the Alfred J. McNeil Collection from the collection's finding aid.

Jubilee singers photograph

Group portrait of a theatre group (WLCAC)

See more materials about the Watts Labor Community Action Committee in our digital collections.

African American female and male theatre troupe

Sacred Music Collections at CSUDH

See our topic guide to Sacred Music primary source collections at CSUDH.

CSUDH Homecoming Court

See more images from the CSUDH Photograph Collection.

Group of students posing for homecoming court photograph

Century Freeway Project

See more digital items from the Tradeswomen Archive in our digital collections. 

Two women carrying wood beam

The Esperanto movement

See over 400 books in our catalog written in or about the international language of Esperanto.

In the News

"Cal State Dominguez Hills gets its hands on a huge repository of obscure and radical political texts"  August 2, 2019

The Holt Labor Library, founded by Rod Holt in San Francisco, finds a new home at CSUDH Gerth Archives & Special Collections. Learn more at CSUDH News → 

 

Tommy Irvine Jazz Collection in Gerth Archives & Special Collections, July 8, 2019

The Tommy Irvine Jazz Collection (1908-1981; bulk 1940-1953) contains approximately 444 records held in 76 album sets with performances from musicians, many of which fall under the musical genre of jazz. Most of the records are 10" Shellac, 78 RPMs. Notable musicians featured in this collection include: George Shearing, Billy Eckstine, Nat King Cole, Erroll Garner, Billie Holiday, Sarah Vaughan, Lester Young, Norman Granz, Teddy Wilson, Glenn Miller, and others. Learn more at CSUDH News → 

 

"CSUDH is New Home of Extensive Archival Library on Labor History"  June 26, 2019

The Gerth Archives has acquired the Holt Labor Library along with a $200,000 donation to catalog, process, and maintain the library, founded by Apple, Inc.'s early employee, Rod Holt. Learn more at CSUDH News →