New collections open for research at the Gerth Archives and Special Collections!
By Karen Clemons and Jennifer Hill
The Gerth Archives and Special Collections has recently processed physical collections that are open for research! To view one of the collections below, or other collections in the archives, you can make an appointment or walk in. Our hours are 9 am - 4:30 pm Monday-Friday. Need more information on how to navigate an archival collection guide and inventory? See the LibGuide on finding aids!
Janice Yen Nikkei for Civil Rights and Redress Collection
The Janice Yen Nikkei for Civil Rights and Redress Collection includes flyers, newspaper clippings, organizational documents, press releases, issues of "Banner," digitized photographs, and other material related to the Nikkei for Civil Rights and Redress (NCRR), formally known as the National Coalition for Redress and Reparations. It also includes material related to the Little Tokyo People's Rights Organization (LTPRO), Japanese Americans, and Japanese American redress. This collection contains some digitized material.
Compton Time Capsule
The Compton High School Time Capsule Collection includes information on the cornerstone, correspondence, city maps, pamphlets, school and club yearbooks, history on the city of Compton, school and city newspapers, information on the 1933 earthquake, and club and organization's list of officers and members.
Tawa Family Letters
The Tawa Family Letters consists of mainly letters to Sukegoro and Chiyoko Tawa from their family and friends between the 1920s and 1960s. Also included are wartime documents issued during the Tawas' incarceration and copies of Sukegoro Tawa's case file as well as family and friends' portraits, and haiku poems.
Horita Family Papers
The Horita Family Papers contains documents from the Horita family, a Japanese American family from the Los Angeles area. The collection focuses on married couple Chitoshi “Harry” Horita (1896-1990) and Marue Nakashima Horita (1901-1982) and their extended family and includes records of the family’s incarceration at the Poston (Colorado River) incarceration camp, research into the family’s history, photographs, and correspondence.
Pat Williams Collection
This collection documents the academic and professional life of Pat Williams- a former union operating engineer. Also an advocate for women in trades, Williams has participated in the labor and non-traditional women’s occupation movement in Southern California. Materials in this collection include: correspondence; personal papers; materials related to International Union of Operating Engineers (IUOE); newsletters; magazines; and other documents collected from trades unions; and tradeswomen and related organizations; materials concerning career development including apprenticeship programs; materials regarding events and conferences; photographs; videocassettes; and ephemera such as stickers, t-shirts, pencils, and hats. The bulk of the materials in this collection relate to Pat Williams’ involvement within IUOE Local 501 and include IUOE Local 501 contracts and agreements; as well as magazines and newsletters. Some of this collection is available online.
Lyle Fulks Collection
The Lyle Fulks Collection includes material collected by Lyle Fulks, a member of the Socialist Workers Party and Solidarity. It includes material from the Socialist Workers Party, Solidarity, as well as other Socialist organizations including, Workers Power, Socialist Action, and International Socialist. The collection also includes teaching syllabi, articles, personal material, and other material related to Socialism, Communism, Marxism, labor, and social justice.
Luis Seligson Caricatures
The Luis Seligson Caricatures contains caricatures illustrated by Luis (Lou) Seligson, likely during the 1960s. A number of these illustrations were for the Socialist newspaper, The Militant.
Black Panthers Publications and Related Articles
The Black Panther Publications and Related Articles Collection (1966-1981; undated) contains material mostly related to the Black Panther Party and its members. Series One contains materials directly written, published, and distributed by the Black Panther Party. It contains insight into their ideology and other important matters at the time. Series Two contains materials directly written by Eldridge Cleaver and Huey P. Newton, two central figures of the Black Panther Party. Also included is an interview of Huey P. Newton. Series Three contains material published by outside sources, but directly related to actions and ideas of the Black Panther Party. Magazines and newspapers in this series are not entirely related to the Black Panthers, but do explicitly mention the Party or its members. Series Four contains material from outside sources and in the majority of the materials, there is no explicit mention of the Black Panther Party or its members. However, it is clear that the material is inspired by the ideology and tactics of the Black Panther Party to push for the rights of several other groups.
The Black Panther Newspapers
The Black Panther Newspapers contains over 400 newspaper issues from 1967 to 1980, organized by the Black Panther Party (BPP). The newspaper covers a variety of topics, from community to global events. It was also used to distribute information of the BPP's ideologies and their support for different groups fighting oppression.
Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) San Francisco Chapter Papers
The Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) San Francisco Chapter Papers (1964-1965; undated) contains 22 documents mostly related to activities of the San Francisco Chapter of CORE. A majority of the documents are in regards to an agreement between Community Dry Goods Relation Association and CORE, and CORE's belief that the terms of the agreement were not met due to discriminatory hiring practices; board meeting minutes and agendas; and a listing of some of CORE's activities from 1962-1965. Also included are documents regarding the Citizens United Against Poverty (CUAP) request for a meeting with Mayor Shelley; two essays entitled "American Slave Revolts" and "The Haitian Revolutions" by Nancy Lamberson; and other documents.
Special thanks to Priscilla Avita, Cecilia Contreras, Jesus Padilla, Allison Wall, and Shawne West for processing and creating the collection guides for some of the collections listed above.