Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSUDH Library Blog

New collections open for research at the Gerth Archives and Special Collections!

by Jennifer Hill on 2022-10-25T14:50:00-07:00 in Archives & Special Collections | Comments

By Karen Clemons and Jennifer Hill 

New collections open for research at the Gerth Archives and Special Collections! 
The Gerth Archives and Special Collections has recently processed physical and digitized collections that are open for research! To view one of the collections below or other collections in the archives, you can make an appointment or walk in. Our hours are 9 am - 4:30 pm Monday - Friday. 
Need more information on how to navigate an archival collection guide and inventory? See the LibGuide on finding aids!


Jeanne Morgan standing in front of sign that reads: Drawing despite everything
Bass Family Correspondence Collection
The Bass Family Correspondence comprises the correspondence and family documents of the Bass Family from Nebraska, who were involved in early American socialism and the labor movement. The collection documents the family history through the eyes of descendant Jeanne Morgan, a community advocate, author, and artist who conducted thorough research into her family's genealogy throughout her adult life. The collection documents the story of the Bass family through letters, documents, heirloom textiles and objects, and hundreds of photographs. Also included in the collection are personal papers and records from Morgan's life and career, including mixed manuscript material.

California Labor Federation AFL-CIO Collection
The California Labor Federation AFL-CIO Collection contains convention booklets and leaflets, voter information fliers, training manuals, organization constitutions, and other materials that provide insight into the California Labor Federation, AFL-CIO.


Charles H. Eilers Collection

The Charles H. Eilers Collection contains materials related to Charles "Carl" H. Eilers (1875-1948) and his family. The Eilers family owned and farmed Rancho San Pedro lands between Dominguez, Alameda, Del Amo, and Santa Fe streets in what was to become Carson, CA from 1889 to 1958. Included in the collection are deeds and title papers, tax reports, receipts, statements, court papers and legal documents, ledgers, correspondence, photographs, newspaper articles, and books. 


Deloris L. Holt Collection
The Deloris L. Holt Collection contains documents from the life and career of Deloris L. Holt, an educator, author, and activist who dedicated her career to sharing the history and achievements of Black Americans with the world. She was the founder of Kinderpress and published books and teaching resources with an emphasis on Black History and Early Childhood Education. This collection includes documents relating to her many publications, including original manuscripts, as well as extensive teaching resources gathered during her 43-year teaching career and personal documents such as personal, activist, and business-related corresponce, awards, and newspaper clippings. Material types include: print materials, cassette audio recordings, image slides, and other mixed media.


Ed Pearl, Ash Grove CollectionTop of flyer for Ash Grove School of Folk Music
The Ed Pearl, Ash Grove Collection contains material belonging to Ed Pearl, founder of the Ash Grove venue. The majority of material related to the Ash Grove includes documents regarding efforts to create a new Ash Grove in the 1980s, as well as in the 1990s on the Santa Monica Pier; and material related to Ash Grove produced events, the Ash Grove Foundation, and Ash Grove music archives project. Also included are documents regarding Pearl's career as a producer for San Francisco Mime Troupe, KPFK-FM radio station, and for a few benefit shows and events; and clippings related to Pearl's interest in folk music, and politics- particularly during the Gulf War.


Burns family photograph in front of house
Irene and Johns Burns Family Collection   
The Irene and Johns Burns Family Collection contains material belonging to the Burns family who are based in Southern California. A majority of the collection contains letters that were written from 1943-1946 by John J. Burns and sent to Irene Burns while John was serving in the United States Marine Corps. Also included are material related to John and Irene's wedding such as RSVPs and greeting cards; as well as family photograph albums, Woodrow Wilson High School yearbooks (1940, 1942), and a personal diary belonging to Irene.

Mendel Krim Collection
The Mendel Krim Collection contains the photographs and papers of Mendel Krim, M.D., who served as a United States Army doctor in Korea and Japan from 1947-1949. Papers include letters, certificates, and records of Krim's military service, while the extensive collection of photographs capture Krim's experiences abroad.

Michael Wyman Green Party of California Collection
The Michael Wyman Green Party of California Collection contains correspondence; proposals; policies; ephemera; mailers; financial records; flyers; meeting minutes; material related to presidential and California elections; and other material regarding the Green Party of California and Green Party of the United States.


Pasadena Buddhist Temple Photographs  

The Pasadena Buddhist Temple Photographs contains photographs and panoramic photographs of the Pasadena Buddhist Temple and members of the church's congregation. Also included are photographs at different Buddhist churches, conferences, and anniversary events around California. All of the items in this collection have been digitized and some are available
online.


Nick Green South Bay Soccer Collection
The Nick Green South Bay Soccer Collection documents soccer events in the South Bay and Los Angeles covered by the reporter and columnist Nick Green. The bulk of the material is devoted to soccer related events held in the stadium located at CSU Dominguez Hills, formerly known as Home Depot Center, which opened in 2003 and is now called Dignity Health Sports Park. The stadium hosts soccer games by the LA Galaxy of Major League Soccer, U.S. men's and women's national soccer teams, and men's and women's college soccer. It was also home to two defunct clubs, the MLS team Chivas USA and Los Angeles Sol of the women's professional soccer. The extent of the collection consists of media guides, game programs, gameday information distributed to the media only, MLS official programs, press clippings, books, DVDs, magazines, and other related items.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...