Skip to main content

CSUDH Library Blog

Documenting COVID-19

by Archives Department on 2020-04-14T10:14:00-07:00 in Archives & Special Collections | Comments

Documenting COVID-19 in Southern Los Angeles County, Gerth Archives & Special Collections

Camera man recording a Toros soccer match

Help the Archives document COVID-19. Tell us your story!

Recognizing the historical significance of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Gerth Archives and Special Collections at California State University, Dominguez Hills (CSUDH) is inviting Southern Los Angeles County and Toro Nation community members to document our individual and community coronavirus experiences by submitting materials to digital collections. The Gerth Archives and Special Collections will make these submissions available to researchers and the public as we collectively put together the story of this unprecedented time in history.

As you prepare materials for submission, consider how the evidence you’ve collected during the pandemic tells the story of COVID-19 and its impact on your personal, academic, and/or professional life. How do your materials reflect the changing dynamics or routines in your home, workplace, or community? We encourage submissions from diverse perspectives that illustrate daily life during quarantine. Potential subject matters include social distancing, the transition to alternative learning formats, relocating from student housing, what it is like to be an essential worker, or changes in daily routines, family dynamics, and interactions with others.

Submissions may include:

  • Digital photos or scans
  • Video and audio recordings
  • Letters, emails, and other correspondence
  • Journal and diary entries
  • Social media posts, publicly accessible web pages, and PDFs
  • Creative art such as drawings, paintings, and poetry
  • Any other digital media that illustrates the effect of the pandemic on your academic, social, family, and extracurricular life

Thank you for helping us with this important project. Your contributions are a crucial part of telling the story of the COVID-19 pandemic in our community.

Please comply with the county and state’s safer-at-home order when self-documenting.

Submit Materials

For other questions, please contact us by email at archives@csudh.edu or phone: (310) 243-3895.

campus library with Cal State Dominguez Hills banner


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...