Skip to main content

CSUDH Library Blog

New Online Exhibit celebrating 100 Years of the Women's Vote!

by Archives Department on 2020-07-09T08:38:00-07:00 in Archives & Special Collections, Women & Gender Studies | Comments

The Gerth Archives and Special Collections and the Department of Women's Studies present the new Exhibit "100 Years of the Women's Vote"

Parade of women marching in the streets with a sign that reads We Demand an Amendment to the Constitution of the United States Enfranchising the Women of this Country.

This exhibit honors the 100-year anniversary of the 19th Amendment, highlighting historical and contemporary successes and struggles as they relate to the enfranchisement of women and marginalized groups. In the fall of 2019, students in WMS 320: Feminist Principles spent the semester studying women's movements on a local, national, and global level. Working with staff from the CSUDH Donald R. & Beverly J. Gerth Archives & Special Collections, students collected information, materials, and images to create posters and display cases related to the Suffrage Movement and women's political participation over the past 100 years. Students also researched and interviewed local organizations and individuals in order to highlight contemporary women and women’s issues that are relevant to our current political moment and the continued fight for women’s rights.

The final project culminated in the posters, display cases, and zine that are featured in this online exhibit. Students in WMS 100: Gender, Sex, the Body & Politics also contributed to the creation of the posters on contemporary women's issues, as well as art images for the exhibit's zine. 

The physical exhibit will be on display at the Gerth Archives and Special Collection on the 5th Floor of Library South through 2021.

Gerth Archives & Special Collections on the 5th floor of the CSUDH Library with exhibit posters.

This project was made possible with support from California Humanities, a non-profit partner of the National Endowment for the Humanities. Visit calhum.org.

Recent Press: CSUDH News


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...