CSUDH Library Blog - LibGuides at California State University Dominguez Hills

Primo VE Migration for OneSearch

On July 2021, the 23 CSU libraries have agreed to migrate to Ex Libris Primo VE. Primo VE offers many advantages over Primo - the software we currently use for OneSearch (the Library Catalog). What does this mean for you? Read below to find out!

Cat in a moving box

Image from Jackie Zhao

When is the migration happening?

The migration date is scheduled for July 28, 2021.

Please be patient with us during the migration and set up everything in the new environment.

What will happen to My Library Account?

Your saved records will be copied over - you don't have to do anything!

Your saved searches and search history will not be copied over. We recommend you backup your searches and history. We may be able to retrieve searches and search history on your behalf but there are no guarantees.

What about my links and bookmarks?!

Don't worry! Your links and bookmarks will automatically redirect to the right place. However, please update your links and bookmarks when you can.

What's going to change?

Here are a few key changes that you might notice:

Availability numbers

Previous interface	New Interface

Shows availability of certain items; however, the quantities were often incorrect	Does not show availability of certain items; this removes incorrect information

Just sign in!

Previous interface	New Interface

There used to be instructions on how to get materials not available at CSUDH.	Now, all you need to do is sign in to see what options are available!

Better records

Previous interface	New Interface

Each version of an item has separate records.	Now, you can see multiple versions of a single item! There are also more cover images.

Why the new interface?

Primo VE offers several advantages including a better user interface and increased searching speed. Find out more from the vendor's FAQ page here.

I still need help!

Contact the Discovery & Systems Librarian, Hannah Lee, at halee@csudh.edu for questions, concerns, or help.

Recent Posts

Changes coming to ERIC Database

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a comprehensive searchable database of education research and information. The collection is being significantly reduced as part of the Department of Government Efficiency's work....

Finding Government Data Sources with 2025 Administration Transition

The 2025 Presidential Administration transition has resulted in significant changes to government websites including the removal and scaling back of webpages, publications, reports, and datasets that are widely used for research in many disciplines including health, sociology, environmental science, and more. While the situation is rapidly changing, this blog will point to archived datasets and reports as well as resources on how data is being saved, stored, and made accessible. Alternative Resources for Removed Information If you have a government webpage url that is no longer available you can try using Gov Wayback to retrieve it in its state prior to January 20th 2025. Climate & Economic Justice Screening Tool (CEJST) CDC RSV Vaccine Guidance during Pregnancy Census Working papers and recent reports All state-level hate crime data from the US Department of Justice FDA Guidance on increasing diversity in clinical trials Harvard has released a backup of Data.gov IPUMS maintains a secure backup of Census and survey data End of Term Archive from the Internet Archive Resources for Context on Preserving Government Data Singer, E. (Feb. 2, 2025). Thousands of Federal Web Pages Taken Down. The New York Times, A19-. Quinn, R. (Jan. 29, 2025). As data goes off-line under Trump, Environmental researchers are uploading backups. Inside Higher Ed Cox, C., Rae, M., Kates, J., Wager, E., Ortazliza, J., & Dawson, L. (Feb. 2, 2025) A look at federal health data taken offline. KFF Koebler, J. (Jan. 30th, 2025). Archivists works to identify and save thousands of datasets disappearing from Data.gov. 404 Media ...

New Collections Open for Research at the Gerth Archives and Special Collections Just in Time for the Fall Semester!

The Gerth Archives and Special Collections has recently processed physical collections that are open for research! To view one of the collections below, or other collections in the archives, you can make an appointment or walk in. Our hours are 9 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 4:30 pm Monday-Friday. Need more information on how to navigate an archival collection guide and inventory? See the LibGuide on finding aids! Battle of Lincoln Place: A Community Defends its Affordable Housing The Battle of Lincoln Place: A Community Defends its Affordable Housing contains court cases, court proceedings, court documents, newsletters, memorandums, reports, letters, flyers, meeting minutes, notes, articles, and other documents; as well as photographs regarding the Lincoln Place housing community located in Venice, California. A majority of the material in this collection relates to Lincoln Place Tenants' Association and tenants; and their battle to save Lincoln Place from evictions and demolitions initiated by various developers and owners who purchased it; which resulted in numerous lawsuits spanning almost fifteen years. Ace Lundon Collection The Ace Lundon Collection (1862-2013, undated; bulk 1990-2013) is a collection about Ace Lundon, a writer, actor, singer, and entrepreneur from South Dakota. It includes personal papers, business records, manuscripts, photographs, audio-visual materials, posters, and more primarily concerning writer, activist, journalist, teacher, entertainer, and entrepreneur Ace Lundon. Torrance Refinery Action Alliance (TRAA) Records This collection contains reports, flyers, fact sheets, articles, emails, memorandums, and other material regarding Torrance Refinery Action Alliance (TRAA), an organization formed in the aftermath of an explosion on February 18, 2015 at the ExxonMobil Torrance Refinery (now PBF Energy's Torrance Refining Company). TRAA's mission is to ban hydrogen fluoride (HF) and modified hydrofluoric acid (MHF) from two refineries (Torrance Refining Company and Valero Wilmington Refinery) in Southern California. L.A. Watts Times The L.A. Watts Times contains issues of the L.A. Watts Times, a newspaper that originally began publication under the name Watts Times, following the Watts Rebellion in 1965. It later became the L.A. Watts Times after Charles Cook purchased the publication in 1976. Sue Doro Collection This collection is related to Sue Doro, a woman who worked as a machinist for over thirty-five years, and wrote poetry about her experiences as a machinist, and her life. It includes newspapers and publications related to her poetry books, appearances, and poetry readings; permissions; copyright; publications; correspondence; and other material related to Sue Doro and women tradeswomen. To the left image of Sue Doro in 1976. Image from “Move Over Bob.” International Programs Collection (CSU Archives) International Programs Collection related to the CSU International Programs. Includes reports, memoranda, correspondence, surveys, and guides to the several study abroad programs within the CSU system. Also contains administrative documents for the Office of International Programs. P.S. If you are on the fifth floor of the library, outside of the Gerth Archives and Special Collections is the new exhibit, Archives 101!! Don’t forget to grab a mini-zine! ...

Modified Library Hours

Our hours are changing! Make sure to keep up-to-date....

New Library Catalog Interface!