As a cost-saving measure, many of our subscriptions are negotiated communally across the CSU system through multi-year agreements. While this process saves significant amounts of money over time, it restricts our flexibility when responding to budget cuts.
For FY 25-26, the following subscriptions will be eligible for renewal, with a projected cost of $207,555. Databases recommended for cancellation by library faculty are written in bold and have a total projected cost of $83,000.
- American Institute of Physics (AIP) - This journal package has a higher-than-average cost-per-use.
- CAS SciFinder
- Chronicle of Higher Education - The library is prioritizing resources that directly support campus curriculum.
- Countrywatch Premium
- Drama Online Platform
- EBSCO APA PsycTESTS
- EBSCO Chicano Database - This database receives low usage compared to similar resources.
- EBSCO CINAHL Complete
- EBSCO Criminal Justice Abstracts - This database contains more abstracts than full-text articles. The library is prioritizing the preservation of full-text databases over abstracting and indexing databases.
- EBSCO Education Source
- EBSCO OmniFile Mega - This database contains more abstracts than full-text articles. The library is prioritizing the preservation of full-text databases over abstracting and indexing databases.
- EBSCO SocINDEX - This database contains more abstracts than full-text articles. The library is prioritizing the preservation of full-text databases over abstracting and indexing databases.
- Global Issues Library - This database receives lower-than-average use.
- Historical Newspapers: New York Times
- Ibis World - The CSU Chancellor's Office provides the campus with free access to ABI/INFORM and Business Source Premier.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America
- Institute of Electrical & Electronic Engineers (IEEE)
- Journalytics Academic - The library is prioritizing resources that directly support campus curriculum.
- MedLine Complete
- Oxford Grove Art
- Policy Map - Comparable open access content is available online.
- Predatory Reports - The library is prioritizing resources that directly support campus curriculum.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: L.A. Times
- Public Affairs Index - Comparable subject-area coverage is available in other databases.
- Time Magazine Archive
- Up-to-Date - The library maintains comparable subject-area coverage through CINAHL, MedLine, and the Cochrane Library.
