Business

This well organized federal agency site provides among other things, a business start-up kit, financing and SBA loan information, links to numerous outside resources (private and state), online library reading room, and much, much more. This should be one of the first sites to consult.

Business.gov is a result of 22 federal agencies efforts and is deemed the “U.S. Government's official website for small businesses.” It provides a wealth of information on all small business topics.

Nolo (Berkeley, CA) has been a publisher of plain-English legal books, software, and forms for nearly 30 years. Everything published is regularly revised and updated by a staff of lawyer-editors. This site provides articles (with a sense of humor!) on almost any legal topic. The business encyclopedia contains information on business plans, financing, obtaining a business license, marketing, taxes and buying and selling a business.

One of the 900 sites around the country to assist small businesses and aspiring entrepreneurs.  Researchers can also find information on franchising, demographics, industry information and more.

From the Library of Congress, this website contains numerous sections, including Raising Capital, Managing Your Business, HR, Marketing, Statistics, and more.

A great site for entrepreneurs and would-be business owners, this site has it all; community space, articles, podcasts, online seminars and other information on all things small business

Includes links to basic federal tax information for small business owners and those looking to start a business. Includes information on identifying your businesses' structure, employer identification numbers, record keeping, business taxes, and a helpful checklist for all necessary tax-related small business filings.