LibGuides: Accessing Research After Graduation: Open Access Resources

What is Open Access?

Open Access (OA) as defined by the Budapest Open Access Initiative, means "its free availability on the public internet, permitting any users to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles." Open Access refers only to the method of access and is not a reflection on quality.

Open Access Journals & Databases

arXiv
A pre-print open access archive sponsored by Cornell University in the fields of Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
Collabra Psychology
Collabra: Psychology is a mission-driven Open Access (OA) journal from the University of California Press that shares not only the research it publishes, but also the value created by the psychology community during the peer-review process.
CSU ScholarWorks
Institutional repository for all open access CSU published works. Includes some faculty articles, student journals, theses, and more.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Open access journals are accessible to anyone and do not require a log in.

Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene
Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene publishes original research reporting on new knowledge of the Earth’s physical, chemical, and biological systems; interactions between human and natural systems; and steps that can be taken to mitigate and adapt to global change.
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
Open Library of the Humanities
An open access publisher in the humanities.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
SpringerOpen
SpringerOpen includes the 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science published by Springer.
SAGE Open
A peer-reviewed open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles. Articles are from across the spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities including education, communication, and business.

Open Access Books

Directory of Open Access Books
7,322 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 192 publishers in all subjects
HaithiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Luminos UC Press Books
Open access books published by the University of California press in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
MIT Open Access Books
Open access books published by MIT at the intersection of science, technology, art, social science, and design.
Open Access eBooks from JSTOR
More than 500 titles are available at no cost to libraries or users.

Open Access Data

figshare
Freely available data, code, and other file formats
DataOne
A multidisciplinary data repository.
ICPSR
Social Science datasets and codebooks; some are only available to subscribers.