Provides definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions, translating them into their full names or meanings.
Provides historical and current information on African American history, society, and culture in 28 topical chapters. Includes a chronology, a chapter of important primary documents, directories of organizations and businesses, a bibliography of recently-published works, annotated lists of crucial court cases, a filmography, hundreds of brief biographies, and more...
It covers biographical information on these areas: Arts; Biography; Business; Education; History; Law; Literature; Medicine; Multicultural Studies; Nation and World; Religion; Science; Social Science etc.
Provides coverage on the best-known American women writers spanning from colonial days to the present, including biography, criticism, and bibliography for each; also includes lesser-known writers whose work is found in journals, letters, stories, and even hymns.
Biographical books (Gale) include 4 titles: - Notable Sports Figures 2003; - Encyclopedia of World Biography 2nd ed., 2004; - Business Leader Profiles for Students 1999; - American Men & Women of Science
22nd ed., 2005
BGMI provides more than 20 million biographical citations on more than 6 million persons, living and deceased, from all fields of activity, covering more than 2,000 years of human history.
It includes three titles: - Cities of the World 6th ed., 2002; - Countries and Their Cultures 2004; - Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations,11thed, 6 vols.
It includes 4 titles: 1) Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990 2vols 2004; 2) Contemporary Fashion 2nd ed. 2002; 3) International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers 4th ed. 4v 2001.
6th, 2004, It details current geographical, social, and political data, historical narrative, and statistical information on the 50 states, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Caribbean and Pacific dependencies of the U.S. Each entry consistently contains data on 50 rubrics. Maps, tables, flags and official state seals included.
