Education - SPE 582

Outline of the Library Presentation: 

It is highly recommended that you view all the videos below if you are a first time learner to access and research for primary research articles.  However, if you have some experience on the area, you can selectively view the sections/videos below.

Section 1: Prepare for Your Research:

• Options for topic selection:

  • Option 1: You can select a topic which you are familiar with, or curious about.

  • Option 2: Browse searching the Education databases. By trying different keyword/topic searching, you will see what topics/articles come up most and what other researchers were writing about. You can, then, choose the topic, in which you are most interested.

• Why you should use scholarly/peer review articles, not magazine articles:

  • Click to get the Summary: Scholarly articles vs. Magazine articles

  • Optional: To learn the difference between Scholarly articles vs. Magazine articles (Video: 7:05 minutes)

• Topic formulation and analysis from descriptive phrases and keywords identification.

  • Sample Topic Analysis sheet

  • Click here to get a copy of the "Topic Analysis" Worksheet (PDF)

  • Optional: Analyzing the topic before starting research, and Identifying the keyword (Video: 7:02 minutes)

• How to find peer-reviewed journals (not articles) in the Library (If the Library owns the journal), follow the step-by-step guide to find and browse the journals.

Section 2: Search Education Articles & Hands-on:

Search the education article databases (direct link: Top Education article databases URL):

• How to find the Education databases from the Library Web site

• Searching education databases: data entry example screen (PPT) 

• How to find the citation formats & permalink from the Education database article page (Screen example)

• Optional: How to search Education article video (Video: 8:49 minutes)

Section 3: Conduct Searching Practice:

• Fill out the Topic Analysis Worksheet and bring it to the 2nd section
• Hands-on practice, searching for articles, thesis/dissertations by CSUDH students and by others, and book chapters, on the topics of your choice:

  • Search education articles ( Link: Top Education article databases )

  • Search thesis/dissertations by CSUDH students
    • Click here to browse digital theses by students of Special Edcuation at CSUDH
    • & CSUDH Dissertations & Theses database
  • Search thesis/dissertations by students from other institutions 

    • Search ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: (URL: https://libguides.csudh.edu/pdt-humantities)

  • Search for books/ebooks - Search OneSearch for books & other materials

Section 4: Literature Review - How:

How to do Literature Review:

Summary of the step-by-step guide: 

Step 1: Choose a topic. Define your research question.

Your literature review should be guided by a central research question.  Remember, it is not a collection of loosely related studies in a field, but instead represents background and research developments related to a specific research question, interpreted, and analyzed by you in a synthesized way.

Tips:

• Use the "Topic Analysis" Worksheet (PDF) to help you make sure your research question is not too broad or too narrow and is manageable.
• Use the worksheet to write down terms that are related to your question. These will be useful for searches later.

Step 2. Decide on the scope of your review.

How many studies do you need to look at? How comprehensive should it be? How many years should it cover? 

Tip:    

This may depend on your assignment.  How many sources (articles) does the assignment require?

Step 3. Select the databases you will use to conduct your searches.

Search the Education databases .

Step 4. Conduct your searches for articles/books. Keep track of your searches!

• Review the abstracts of research studies carefully. This will save you time.
• Copy the citations or save the PermaLink of the selected articles.

Step 5. Review the literature.

Some questions to help you analyze the research:

• What was the research question of the study you are reviewing? What were the authors trying to discover?
• What were the research methodologies used in the article? Analyze its literature review, the samples and variables used, the results, and the conclusions. Does the research seem to be complete? Could it have been conducted more soundly? What further questions does it raise?
• If there are conflicting studies, why do you think that is?
• Was the research funded by a source that could influence the findings?
• How are the authors viewed in the field? Has this study been cited? if so, how has it been analyzed?

          Tips:  

• Again, review the abstracts carefully.  
• Keep careful notes so that you may track your thought processes during the research process.

(Reference: Literature Review: Conducting & Writing, https://libguides.uwf.edu/c.php?g=215199&p=1420520