Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSUDH Library Blog

Online Support and Services at the Library

by CSUDH Library on 2022-01-30T16:13:00-08:00 | Comments

University Library COVID-19 Updates and Online Support

This post contains information related to the University Library's current operations and response to the COVID-19 outbreak, including updates to operations, access to remote services, and other helpful links.

Last updated (in bold):  03/24/2022 

Spring Hours

The University Library will open to the public on Monday, January 24th 2022 and hours will change throughout the semester. 

Effective Dates Monday - Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
January 24 -February 13 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM 9:30 AM - 5 PM Closed Closed
February 14 -March 25 8 AM - 10 PM 8 AM - 5 PM 11 AM - 5 PM

Closed Sundays with the possibility of adding hours, based on data, staffing and the COVID-19 situation 

March 26-April 2 8 AM - 5 PM 8 AM - 5 PM Closed Closed
April 3 - April 9 8 AM - 10 PM 8 AM - 5 PM 8 AM - 5 PM Closed
April 10-May13 8 AM - 10 PM 8 AM - 5 PM 8 AM - 5 PM Noon - 5pm

Closed March 31 for Cesar Chavez Day

Closed April 17 Easter Sunday

Library Spaces

For information on Information Technology's Laptop Loan program, including appointment scheduling for device pick-up and return, please visit their website.

Any future changes to library building and service hours will be announced on this page and updated on our library hours page.

Services for Physical Materials

24/7 Library Lockers are available. Sign into OneSearch with your CSUDH username and password to enable request options for CSUDH and CSU+ materials. For more details on the 24/7 Library Lockers service and how to request materials, please visit our Library Lockers website.

For questions, please call Library User Services at 310-243-3712 or email circulation@csudh.edu.

Online Research Help

There are many ways to conduct research and receive assistance online! Virtual services through the Research Help Desk are available with CSUDH librarians (see update library hours) with 24/7 chat outside these hours from librarians at other CSU and university campuses. Support by email and Zoom, a free web conferencing tool with video, audio, and screen sharing, is also available.

Not sure how to request an online appointment or use Zoom? See our FAQ on how to schedule an online research appointment and the Academic Technology documentation on Zoom

Library Materials Online

You can browse library collections in OneSearch and our Article Databases at any time. Take our OneSearch tutorial to learn more. 

You can also sign in to your library account in OneSearch to save search results and view your current library loans. Sign in to your Interlibrary Loan account to view your active requests for electronic materials. 

Looking for your textbook that was on course reserve? Check to see if online access is available from OneSearch. As well, make select course material available online via Library Course Materials.

Interlibrary Loan & CSU+ Services

If the research materials you need are not available at CSUDH, our library will try to get it for you at no cost to you. You can access research materials through one of two resource sharing networks: CSU+ or Interlibrary Loan

Archives & Special Collections

Questions about the Gerth Archives & Special Collections can be addressed to archives@csudh.edu. Due to limited access to our collections, we will be able to answer reference questions only on a limited basis. Be sure to check our digital collections and or our finding aids on the Online Archive of California.

The Gerth Archives & Special Collections at CSUDH is inviting Southern Los Angeles County and Toro Nation community members to contribute materials that document your experiences during the COVID-19 pandemic in order to help preserve our community’s stories for future generations during this unprecedented time. Some suggestions include images, short videos, emails, social media posts, or diaries/journals.

Textbooks & Free Resources

Need online access to your textbook? Check to see if online access is available from OneSearch. As well, make select course material available online via Library Course Materials.

Would you rather listen to your course readings or research materials? The CSUDH University Library, in partnership with the Division of Information Technology, also offers text to speech conversion through SensusAccess.

Faculty Resources for Instruction 

Librarians can teach information literacy instruction sessions online using Zoom, recommend relevant research guides and tutorials, and design online instructional materials to support research assignments. Contact your academic college liaison or the Information Literacy Coordinator, Carolyn Caffrey (cgardner@csudh.edu), to schedule an online instruction session or discuss online learning options.  

Faculty Resources for Course Materials

The library can also help instructors add library-licensed course materials in Blackboard such as links to ebooks, streaming videos, and other affordable learning solutions

The library also provides e-reserves for library materials and course materials provided by instructors. Check to see if your course textbook is available as an ebook via OneSearch. As well, make select course material available online via Library Course Materials.For more help, you can email our Course Reserves Specialist Chris Acosta (chacosta@csudh.edu), Robert Downs (rdowns@csudh.edu) or the Course Reserves department at reserves@csudh.edu.

You might also consider finding and using resources and tools that will continue to be free and openly available to you and your students after the crisis is over. Check out the library's OER research guide ​for information on where to look, or contact your liaison librarian.

Need additional online materials to support your course? Fill out our suggest a purchase form and we will contact you with the availability of the item and order it if possible. 

Faculty Resources for Copyright

The rapid transition to remote teaching may require you to modify the amount and delivery of copyrighted content you provide via Blackboard. Copyright specialists from the US and Canada have drafted a public statement on fair use and emergency remote teaching & research to help clarify how to evaluate fair use during this period. The University Library also has updated our Copyright research guide with additional useful information. Please contact Digital Initiatives Librarian, Dana Ospina (dospina@csudh.edu), if you need additional assistance.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...