Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSUDH Library Blog

Online Support and Services at the Library

by CSUDH Library on 2020-03-13T15:35:00-07:00 | Comments

University Library COVID-19 Updates and Online Support

This post contains information related to the University Library's current operations and response to the COVID-19 outbreak, including updates to operations, access to remote services, and other helpful links.

Last updated: 12/15/2020

Library Spaces

The University Library is closed to public access. For further information on Information Technology's Laptop Loan program, including alternative arrangements for pick-up, please visit their website.

Any future changes to library building and service hours will be announced on this page and updated on our library hours page.

 

Curbside Pickup Services

Curbside Pickup has concluded as of Thursday, December 10th. The request service will resume in the new year.

Request items from the University Library's main collections and CSU+ through your OneSearch account. You can also request Interlibrary Loan items. When your items are available for pickup, you'll receive a hold pickup notification email. Use the link in your hold pickup notification email to schedule your 15-minute appointment. Appointments are available on Tuesdays between 10am and 2pm, and on Thursdays between 12pm and 4pm. The final day for curbside pickup for 2020 was Thursday, December 11th. No further appointments will be scheduled at this time.

Not sure how to request items, or want to check on the status of your request(s)? Visit our FAQ for requesting items through OneSearch for curbside pickup. Requests for physical materials are now closed for the remainder of 2020. Electronic journal article and book chapter requests will continue to be fulfilled.

Want to know more about how to schedule a curbside pickup appointment, what times are available, and where to go to get your materials? Visit our FAQ that's all about curbside appointments. Appointments have concluded for 2020.

For questions, please call Library User Services at 310-243-3712 or email circulation@csudh.edu.

 

Online Research Help

There are many ways to conduct research and receive assistance online! Virtual services through the Research Help Desk are available with CSUDH librarians Monday through Thursday from 8am to 6pm and Fridays from 10am to 4pm with 24/7 chat outside these hours from librarians at other CSU and university campuses. Support by email and Zoom, a free web conferencing tool with video, audio, and screen sharing, is also available.

Not sure how to request an online appointment or use Zoom? See our FAQ on how to schedule an online research appointment and the Academic Technology documentation on Zoom

 

Library Materials Online

You can browse library collections in OneSearch and our Article Databases at any time. Take our OneSearch tutorial to learn more. 

You can also sign in to your library account in OneSearch to save search results and view your current library loans. Sign in to your Interlibrary Loan account to view your active requests for electronic materials. 

Looking for your textbook that was on course reserve? Check to see if online access is available from OneSearch.

 

Bookdrops Open & Extended Due Dates for Borrowed Materials

Most CSUDH items due back between 3/1/2020 and 5/24/2021 are now extended until May 25th, 2021. Due dates as listed in your library account reflect the correct due date. No fines and fees are accruing on your items if the loans have been extended. If you are able, please return any items that you are no longer using via our bookdrops (details below).

If your library account expired on or before December 23rd, 2020, your books are due back at this time. Bookdrops are open for you to return borrowed materials. Please be aware that there is a 1-2 week period between when you return your items and when they are checked in. This is due to extremely limited staffing and materials being placed in quarantine for our health and safety. The Library building remains closed at this time to public access. If you cannot make it to campus but need to return items, or if you have any other questions about borrowing or returning library materials, email Library User Services at circulation@csudh.edu, or call (310) 243-3712 between 8am and 5pm, Monday through Friday.

 

Interlibrary Loan & CSU+ Services

Most Interlibrary Loan items due back after 3/1/2020 are now extended until further notice, and most CSU+ items due back after 3/1/2020 are extended until May 25th, 2021.  If your library account expired on or before December 23rd, 2020, your books are due back at this time. Please use the CSUDH bookdrops to return any items that are due or that you no longer need.

CSU+ services are now suspended. When we are able to resume service, please be aware that there is a 1-2 week period between when you place your request and when the item is available for you to check out due to our COVID-19 quarantine protocol for health and safety. 

Interlibrary Loan is no longer available for new requests for physical items, but we are still receiving and filling requests for electronic items. If you need an electronic item that is not owned by CSUDH, sign into your ILL account and submit a request for Interlibrary Loan. You can also fill out our Suggest a Library Purchase form for evaluation by our selectors. If you have other questions about how to use ILL or how to return ILL items, visit our FAQs or email the ILL Department at ill2@csudh.edu. You can also sign in to your Interlibrary Loan account to view your active requests. 

 

Archives & Special Collections

Questions about the Gerth Archives & Special Collections can be addressed to archives@csudh.edu. Due to limited access to our collections, we will be able to answer reference questions only on a limited basis. Be sure to check our digital collections and or our finding aids on the Online Archive of California.

The Gerth Archives & Special Collections at CSUDH is inviting Southern Los Angeles County and Toro Nation community members to contribute materials that document your experiences during the COVID-19 pandemic in order to help preserve our community’s stories for future generations during this unprecedented time. Some suggestions include images, short videos, emails, social media posts, or diaries/journals.

 

Textbooks & Free Resources

Need online access to your textbook? Check to see if online access is available from OneSearch.

Due to increased online instruction as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, many publishers and content providers have temporarily expanded access to online resources free of charge. Check our guide Expanded Access to Online Resources Due to COVID-19 to take advantage of these high quality instructional materials. Most of this access has expired, but some resources may still be available into the Fall 2020 semester.

Would you rather listen to your course readings or research materials? The CSUDH University Library, in partnership with the Division of Information Technology, also offers text to speech conversion through SensusAccess.

 

Faculty Resources for Instruction 

Librarians can teach information literacy instruction sessions online using Zoom, recommend relevant research guides and tutorials, and design online instructional materials to support research assignments. Contact your academic college liaison or the Information Literacy Coordinator, Carolyn Caffrey Gardner (cgardner@csudh.edu), to schedule an online instruction session or discuss online learning options.  

 

Faculty Resources for Course Materials

The library can also help instructors add library-licensed course materials in Blackboard such as links to ebooks, streaming videos, and other affordable learning solutions

The library also provides e-reserves for library materials and course materials provided by instructors. Check to see if your course textbook is available as an ebook via OneSearch. We are resuming our limited scanning service for physical course reserves. To submit a request, please use this form to supply details on your course and the specified materials. We cannot scan entire textbooks, but brief excerpts are allowed. Physical course reserves aren't currently available for checkout or request via curbside pickup.  For more help, you can email our Course Reserves Specialist Chris Acosta (chacosta@csudh.edu), User Services Coordinator Joanna Kimmitt (jkimmitt@csudh.edu), or the Course Reserves department at reserves@csudh.edu.

You might also consider finding and using resources and tools that will continue to be free and openly available to you and your students after the crisis is over. Check out the library's OER research guide ​for information on where to look, or contact the Open Education Librarian, Cristina Springfield (cspringfield@csudh.edu).

Need additional online materials to support your course? Fill out our suggest a purchase form and we will contact you with the availability of the item and order it if possible. 

 

Faculty Resources for Copyright

The rapid transition to remote teaching may require you to modify the amount and delivery of copyrighted content you provide via Blackboard. Copyright specialists from the US and Canada have drafted a public statement on fair use and emergency remote teaching & research to help clarify how to evaluate fair use during this period. The University Library also has updated our Copyright research guide with additional useful information. Please contact Digital Initiatives Librarian, Dana Ospina (dospina@csudh.edu), if you need additional assistance.

 

System-Wide Library Services

The 23 California State University (CSU) Libraries are providing expanded support for our students and faculty as we move to a virtual instruction environment. While some steps are purely local, two critical measures result from a system-wide collaboration:

  1. provision of a rich array of expanded, full-text databases and
  2. an extension of library circulation due dates for library materials and dismissal of library fines for continuing students, faculty, staff, and community users.
  3. courtesy returns of any print and media materials checked out from any CSU campus at any open bookdrops on a CSU campus. Please note that courtesy returns will take significant time to be received and processed while staffing is limited.

 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...