Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Course Materials (Leganto)

Creating a Reading List

Add the Library Course Materials list to your Blackboard course in a few easy steps.

  • After you log into your Blackboard course, click into the content area where you want to place your list
  • Click on Build Content, then scroll down to "Library Course Reserves" and select it.

  • Name the content item "Resource List", "Reading List", or something similar that is meaningful for you and your students. Optionally, include some text in the Description field.

Adding a name and description to your new Blackboard Library Course Materials reading list

  • Next, click on the list you've just created to finish the setup process.

Adding Resources

There are three ways to add citations one-by-one. To start, click on the Add Items button at the top of your resource list:

Search the Library's electronic and physical collections:

  • By default, you will search in the Library's full OneSearch interface. You can change this setting by adjusting the dropdown menu to filter to a specific resource type.
  • Results appear in the box below your search query.
  • Click on the resource you want to add. Optionally, you can select a specific section in your list where you would like to add the resource. 

Highlight of selected resource on reading list to demonstrate how to add a resource to a list

  • Click the blue "Add" button. Note: Clicking this button multiple times will create multiple entries in your list. You can also drag-and-drop the resource directly into your resource list.
  • Continue to add as many resources as you would like.
  • To view the resource, students can click the "View online" link to connect directly to the item in the Library's holdings.
    • If there is one entry point to the item, it will connect directly to the resource.
    • If there are multiple options, all relevant databases will be listed.
    • All links connect directly to library-subscribed resources, so students do not have to search again to get to the resource.

Example of entry for electronic article in a resource list

Cite It! is another tool for adding online resources to a reading list from outside the LIbrary's collections. It is a toolbar widget that you install in your web browser to cite a webpage or content item within a webpage.

To install Cite IT!, drag and drop the link to your browser's toolbar:

  • To add an item using Cite It!, simply click on Cite it! in your browser's toolbar, and a pop-up window appears with the item's details. Note: You must have the Library Course Materials tool open in your browser for the connection to be made to your resource list(s).

Creating a citation for an uploaded file

Add your own PDF documents or other files using the Create function.

Managing Your List

Creating Sections

You can divide your list into one or more sections to organize your readings.

  • Click New Section.
  • Enter a title. Description and dates are optional, but may be helpful to you and your students.
  • Click Create when you are done.
  • Repeat to create more sections.
  • Expand and collapse sections by using the Toggle section view icon near the top of the screen.
  • To reorder sections, click on the section you wish to move and drag and drop to your desired location.
  • Edit section information by clicking on the ellipses icon to the right of the section name to select Edit Section.
  • This opens a dialog box allowing you to change the title, dates, and description of the section. Clic Save when you have made all of your changes.

Editing Resources

  • The Library Course Materials tool automatically includes informational metadata from items in the Library's catalog.
  • If you want to add more information to the item, click the ellipses icon next to the item title and select Edit item. This will open a dialog box where you can edit the imported metadata.
  • You can also delete an item from your list by clicking on the ellipses icon and selecting Delete item.

Clicking on the resource entry will open a new page with additional editing options.

  • Add a Due Date to the resource.
  • Add a Public or Private Note. We recommend using Public Notes to indicate specific chapters for readings, rather than deleting and editing titles for books to signify a specific chapter for assigned reading.
  • Only you can see a Private Note
  • Set dates for the visibility of the citation and item.

Managing Your Collection

Instead of adding resources directly to a list, you can choose to add to your Collection. From your My Collection area, you can easily place the same material in multiple lists.

  • To start, click My Collection on the left sidebar. This will take you to your My Collection page.
  • To add a new item, click the blue Add Item button.
  • This brings up the search dialog box, which functions the same as adding items directly to a resource list.
  • After searching for a resource, click the blue Add to Collection button.
  • When you exit the search box, you should see the new item at the top of your Collection page.
  • Go back to your reading list by clicking Reading Lists on the top left and then selecting your target list.
  • Click the blue Open Collection button.
  • Now your collection list should appear on the right sidebar. The open collection button has changed to Close Collection.
  • To add a resource from your collection to your reading list, click on the resource and drag it into the appropriate place in your reading list.
  • Once you are finished, click Close Collection.

Submit/Publish Your Reading List

Submitting List to the Library

Once you have completed your list, you will need to submit it to the Library's Course Reserves for final processing.

Click on the Library Review button to send the list for processing. You can use this multiple times as you add items to your list throughout the course term. 

Please note that PDF uploads and physical resources will not be immediately available to students for viewing, as they must be processed and reviewed by library staff. PDFs should be uploaded with ADA accessibility edits already made and will be returned for remediation if they are not accessible.

The Library will complete processing and publish your list within two business days of its submission, and will update PDFs and physical items within four business days. 

Drop off any physical items that you wish to place on loan for Course Reserves at the Library's Course Reserves Desk during the Library's regular operating hours. Items and lists received on weekends may not be processed immediately.