This list will be updated as we learn more about future budget allocations.
*Cost per use indicates the return on investment for library expenditures. Subscriptions with a high cost per use are often canceled to save subscriptions with a lower cost per use.
- Health Source - The library maintains comparable subject-area coverage through CINAHL, MedLine, and the Cochrane Library.
- EBSCO eBooks - The campus receives free access to ProQuest and JSTOR eBook packages through the CSU Chancellor's Office. An overlap analysis revealed a significant amount of duplicate content between these collections.
- Films on Demand - The campus received free access to Academic Video Online (AVON) through the CSU Chancellor's Office. Residents of LA County can view films on Kanopy and Hoopla for free through the public library system.
- Ovid Nursing Journals – The library maintains comparable nursing coverage through CINAHL, MedLine, and the Cochrane Library.
- University of Chicago Journals – This journal package has a higher-than-average cost per use.*
- American Physical Society Journals – This journal package has a higher-than-average cost per use.*
- Mental Measurements Yearbook - This database has a higher-than-average cost per use.*
- Philosophy Index - This database has a higher-than-average cost per use* and similar coverage in JSTOR and Project Muse.
- Ulrichs - This database has a higher-than-average cost per use.*
- Kanopy - We will not replenish the funds for Kanopy. Currently, the library leases 12-month access to requested Kanopy films at a cost of $112 - $150 per film, which is no longer sustainable. Many public libraries subscribe to the Kanopy streaming platform. Visit https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4171.htm to get started.
- Individual journal subscriptions for College & Undergraduate Libraries, Family Transitions, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Economic History, Journal of Sex & Marital Therapy, Social Studies & The Young Learner, and Social Work in Health Care have higher-than-average cost per use* and similar coverage in full-text databases.
These cancellations, along with the transfer of SAGE and Springer licenses to the CSU Chancellor's Office, total an initial cost reduction of $200,000.
Accessing Similar Resources
If you depend on any of the canceled resources for your research and instruction, please consult the table below to identify the official access cut-off date and alternate sources recommended by library faculty.
| Resource |
Last Day of Access |
Similar Resources |
| Health Source |
06/30/2025 |
CINAHL, Cochrane Library, MedLine,
Nursing and Allied Health |
| EBSCO eBooks |
06/30/2025 |
ProQuest eBooks, SAGE eBooks,
JSTOR eBooks, Gale eBooks |
| Films on Demand |
06/30/2025 |
AVON, LA County Library Kanopy
subscription |
| Ovid Nursing Journals |
03/31/2025 |
CINAHL, Cochrane Library, MedLine,
Nursing and Allied Health
|
| University of Chicago Journals |
12/31/2024
|
JSTOR |
| American Physical Society Journals |
12/31/2024 |
ScienceDirect, Scitation |
| Mental Measurements Yearbook |
06/30/2024 |
PsycTests, ERIC |
| Philosophy Index |
06/30/2024 |
Project Muse |
| Ulrichs |
06/30/2024 |
Cabell’s Journalytics |
| Kanopy |
When current funds
are depleted |
AVON, LA County Library Kanopy
subscription |
In addition to subscription content, consider using tools to find open access materials, such as Google Scholar, Libkey Nomad, OA Button, EndNote Click, and Unpaywall.
As fellow faculty members, we understand that these cuts may impact your research and instruction and are here to support your work. Please reach out to discuss alternate access or to find comparable content.
