LibGuides: Social Work and Human Services: Find Articles

OneSearch is a library search tool where you can find almost everything the CSUDH Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books, including textbooks, articles, streaming videos, and more! A great place to start for any research project. You can also use OneSearch to find the full text, borrow books from other CSU libraries, and generate a citation.

Start Tutorial Watch Video

Google Scholar is a search tool where you can find scholarly sources like peer-reviewed articles, dissertations, theses, and books with Google's simple look and feel. Add CSUDH in Library Links to connect Google Scholar to OneSearch to get the full text through our library subscriptions. You can also use Google Scholar to find freely available PDFs, trace citations, look up authors profiles and journal metrics, and generate a citation.

Watch Video

Great Databases for Social Work Research

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive database for psychology which includes full-text and citations for major psychology journals, books, and dissertations. Narrow your search by methodology, population age, or using the subject thesaurus.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A great place to start for health, science, and psychology research. Narrow your search to clinical trials or by using the Medical Subject Heading (MeSH). If you connect to PubMed through this link you can use the "Find It @ CSUDH Lib" button to access the full text in our library databases.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on social work, human services, and related disciplines. Don't see PDF full text? Use the "Find @ CSUDH" to find it!
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journal articles from all fields in sociology including criminal justice and social psychology topics. Coverage includes ASA published journals.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research resources in sociology and related fields. Sociological Abstracts is great at finding international journals on a particular topic.

Other Useful Databases

Films On Demand: Digital Educational Videos This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational full videos and clips in dozens of subject areas and from a wide variety of producers and television networks.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A health and social sciences data repository which includes full-text datasets, questionnaires, codebooks, and csv files. Browse by topic, variable, or replication datasets.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Psychological tests and measures including select full-text, citation information, and test reviews. Search by instrument type to narrow your results to those with a complete coding scheme.
WestLaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal research system for researching primary law (cases, statutes, administrative materials, etc.) and secondary sources (treatises, law reviews, etc.).

Social Work Journals

Journal of Marriage and Family
The National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) provides a forum for family researchers, educators, and practitioners to share in the development and dissemination of knowledge about families and family relationships, establishes professional standards, and works to promote family well-being.
Trauma, Violence, & Abuse (TVA)
A Peer-reviewed publication devoted to organizing, synthesizing, and expanding knowledge on all forms of trauma, abuse, and violence. TVA is practitioner oriented, dedicated to professionals and advanced students in clinical training who work with any form of trauma, abuse, and violence, and is intended to compile knowledge that clearly affects practice, policy, and research.
Child Abuse and Neglect
Offering a holistic view of the subject by including not only professionals in specialized social service, health, mental health, and justice systems but also topics of interest to child safety in everyday life, and other social science professionals.
American Journal of Community Psychology
The American Journal of Community Psychology publishes original quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research; theoretical papers; empirical reviews; reports of innovative community programs or policies; and first person accounts of stakeholders involved in research, programs, or policy.
The International Journal of Social Welfare
Original articles in English on social welfare and social work. Its interdisciplinary approach and comparative perspective promote examination of the most pressing social welfare issues of the day by researchers from the various branches of the applied social sciences. The journal seeks to disseminate knowledge and to encourage debate about these issues and their regional and global implications.
Health and Social Care in the Community
An international peer-reviewed journal with a multidisciplinary audience including social workers, health care professionals with a community or public health focus e.g. public health practitioners, GP’s, Community Nurses and Social Care researchers and educators.
Research on Social Work Practice
Research on Social Work Practice (RSWP), published bi-monthly, is a disciplinary journal devoted to the publication of empirical research concerning the assessment methods and outcomes of social work practice.

Accessing Library Resources Off-Campus

If you're following a permalink from your instructor in Blackboard, a library database link, or a full text link in OneSearch, you will be prompted to log in to the CSUDH Authentication Service using your CSUDH username and password. Or, sign in to My Account in OneSearch.

Trouble logging in? Check that you are not mistyping your username or password, try clearing your browser cookies and cache, or reset your password at password.csudh.edu.

If you have questions about resetting your password, please contact the IT Help Desk or call (310) 243-2500.