LibGuides: English & Literature: Find Articles

OneSearch is a library search tool where you can find almost everything the CSUDH Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books, including textbooks, articles, streaming videos, and more! A great place to start for any research project. You can also use OneSearch to find the full text, borrow books from other CSU libraries, and generate a citation.

Start Tutorial Watch Video

Best Library Databases for English

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. Includes some primary sources and book reviews. A great place to find older, digitized issues. Recent issues are not always available in JSTOR.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
You can use this comprehensive literature database to find full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines as well as critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies. A useful resource for information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
Humanities (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find full-text articles from humanities disciplines including history, literature, art history, philosophy, film studies, and more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text journals and books in the social sciences and humanities. Great for literature, history, gender studies, and ethnic studies research.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citation information and links to full text research in the areas of literature, linguistics, rhetoric, film, television, and more. You can search by author or creator, type period, genre, stylistic features, and literary themes.

Accessing Library Resources Off-Campus

If you're following a permalink from your instructor in Blackboard, a library database link, or a full text link in OneSearch, you will be prompted to log in to the CSUDH Authentication Service using your CSUDH username and password. Or, sign in to My Account in OneSearch.

Trouble logging in? Check that you are not mistyping your username or password, try clearing your browser cookies and cache, or reset your password at password.csudh.edu.

If you have questions about resetting your password, please contact the IT Help Desk or call (310) 243-2500.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If a book or article isn’t available through one of the library’s subscriptions, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan is a resource sharing service with libraries across the country that provides research materials at no cost to you. If you're requesting an article or book chapter, you'll receive a copy as a PDF.

First, check to see if it's available in OneSearch or another library database. Look for the Find It @ CSUDH Lib button.

Find it @ CSUDH Lib button.

You can also borrow books from other CSU campuses and have them delivered to the CSUDH Library. Look for the Request through CSU+ option in OneSearch.

For more information about borrowing books from the library, check out the Library's "Borrowing Materials" page.