(formerly known as "Communications and Mass Media Complete")
Full text articles and abstracts covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
A great place to start for any research topic. Don't see the PDF Full Text option? Use the Find It @ CSUDH Lib button to access the full text in another library database.
Access full text articles from publications with ethnic, minority, and native perspectives. Regional and national coverage of history, news, and culture are available from both popular and scholarly sources.
Contemporary social issues with a focus on the U. S. Browse by issue to find topic pages that provide curated lists of viewpoint essays presenting each side of a debate, academic articles, news, statistics, and more about that issue. A great resource for THE 120 & ENG 110.
Find resources for your business research, including scholarly and professional full text articles, company profiles, and economic reports.
Professional Organizations
American Press Institute (API)The institute's mission is to encourage the advancement of news media; it conducts research, training, convenes leaders and creates tools for journalism.
American Society of Newspaper EditorsMembers can be editors, producers or directors in charge of journalistic organizations or departments; opinion journalists; deans or faculty at university journalism schools; leaders and faculty of media-related foundations and training organizations and other individuals at the board's discretion.
Asian American Journalists AssociationThe Mission of the AAJA is four-fold: To provide a means of association and support among Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) journalists, and to advance AAPI journalists as news managers and media executives. To provide encouragement, information, advice and scholarship assistance to AAPI students who aspire to professional journalism careers.
To provide to the AAPI community an awareness of news media and an understanding of how to gain fair access. To research and point out when news media organizations stray from accuracy and fairness in the coverage of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders and AAPI issues.
Associated Press Media EditorsThe Associated Press Media Editors is a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization of newsroom leaders and journalism educators that works closely with The Associated Press to promote journalism excellence. Anyone with senior responsibilities in an AP-affiliated organization, and any journalism educator or student media leader, is invited to join.
Association of Alternative NewsmediaThe Association of Alternative Newsmedia (AAN) is a 501c(6) organization, which represents nearly 100 alternative newsmedia organizations throughout North America. AAN’s purpose is two-fold: to provide services and leadership that ensure the success of its members; and to strengthen alternative journalism through advocacy and education.
Association of Health Care JournalistsThe Association of Health Care Journalists, Inc. is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. Its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing.
Committee to Protect JournalistsThe Committee to Protect Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization that promotes press freedom worldwide. We defend the right of journalists to report the news safely and without fear of reprisal.
Education Writers AssociationThe mission of the Education Writers Association is to strengthen the community of education writers and improve the quality of education coverage to better inform the public.
Fund for Investigative JournalismThe Fund for Investigative Journalism was founded in 1969 by the late Philip M. Stern, a public-spirited philanthropist who devoted his life “to balancing the scales of justice,” in the words of a friend. Stern was convinced small amounts of money invested in the work of determined journalists would yield enormous results in the fight against racism, poverty, corporate greed and governmental corruption
International Press InstituteThe International Press Institute (IPI) is a global network of editors, journalists and media executives who share a common dedication to quality, independent journalism.
Investigative Reporters and EditorsInvestigative Reporters and Editors Inc. is a grassroots nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of investigative reporting. IRE was formed in 1975 to create a forum in which journalists throughout the world could help each other by sharing story ideas, newsgathering techniques and news sources.
IRE provides members access to thousands of reporting tip sheets and other materials through its resource center and hosts conferences and specialized training throughout the country.
National Association of Hispanic JournalistsThe National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) is dedicated to the recognition and professional advancement of Hispanics in the news industry. Established in April 1984, NAHJ created a national voice and unified vision for all Hispanic journalists.
National Association of Science WritersThe National Association of Science Writers is a community of more than 2,300 journalists, authors, editors, producers, public information officers, students and people who write and produce material intended to inform the public about science, health, engineering, and technology. NASW promotes the professional interests of science writers nationally and globally, plays an active role in supporting efforts to ensure writers are paid for their work, and advocates for copyright protections for writers.
National Federation of Press WomenTo promote professionalism and ethical activities in journalism and communications by providing valuable networking, peer recognition and mentoring opportunities. To continually work to protect the rights of a free press within the First Amendment of the US Constitution.
National Lesbian and Gay Journalists AssociationNLGJA is a journalist-led association working within the news media to advance fair and accurate coverage of LGBTQ communities and issues. We promote diverse and inclusive workplaces by holding the industry accountable and providing education, professional development and mentoring.
National Press ClubThe National Press Club is a professional and social club for working journalists and communications professionals that has been a Washington institution for more than a century.
Nieman Foundation for JournalismThe Nieman Foundation houses a dynamic set of initiatives to promote and elevate the standards of journalism and educate and support those poised to make important contributions to its future. They do this through fellowship programs; publications, online and in-print; and programming.
Online News AssociationThe Online News Association is the world’s largest digital journalism association. Membership includes journalists, technologists, executives, students, educators and other digital media professionals. ONA’s mission is to inspire and support innovation and excellence in digital journalism. The mission is served through work in five focus areas: developing strategies for emerging tech; sharing best practices on audience engagement and metrics; innovative news storytelling; experimenting and finding new revenue and business models; cultivating newsroom leadership, culture and diversity
Radio Television Digital News AssociationThe Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to broadcast and digital journalism. Founded as a grassroots organization in 1946, RTDNA’s mission is to promote and protect responsible journalism. RTDNA defends the First Amendment rights of electronic journalists throughout the country, honors outstanding work in the profession through the Edward R. Murrow Awards and provides members with training to encourage ethical standards, newsroom leadership and industry innovation
Society of Professional JournalistsThe Society of Professional Journalists works to improve and protect journalism. The organization is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.
The Federal Communications Commission regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable in the United States. An independent government agency overseen by Congress, the commission is the authority for communications laws and regulations.
Access full text articles from publications with ethnic, minority, and native perspectives. Regional and national coverage of history, news, and culture are available from both popular and scholarly sources.
