Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Course Materials (Leganto)

Managing Your List

Managing your Reading List- Training Video

Creating Sections

You can divide your list into one or more sections to organize your readings.

  • Click New Section.
  • Enter a title. Description and dates are optional, but may be helpful to you and your students.
  • Click Create when you are done.
  • Repeat to create more sections.
  • Expand and collapse sections by using the Toggle section view icon near the top of the screen.
  • To reorder sections, click on the section you wish to move and drag and drop to your desired location.
  • Edit section information by clicking on the ellipses icon to the right of the section name to select Edit Section.
  • This opens a dialog box allowing you to change the title, dates, and description of the section. Clic Save when you have made all of your changes.

Editing Resources

  • The Library Course Materials tool automatically includes informational metadata from items in the Library's catalog.
  • If you want to add more information to the item, click the ellipses icon next to the item title and select Edit item. This will open a dialog box where you can edit the imported metadata.
  • You can also delete an item from your list by clicking on the ellipses icon and selecting Delete item.

Clicking on the resource entry will open a new page with additional editing options.

  • Add a Due Date to the resource.
  • Add a Public or Private Note. We recommend using Public Notes to indicate specific chapters for readings, rather than deleting and editing titles for books to signify a specific chapter for assigned reading.
  • Only you can see a Private Note
  • Set dates for the visibility of the citation and item.

Managing Your Collection

Instead of adding resources directly to a list, you can choose to add to your Collection. From your My Collection area, you can easily place the same material in multiple lists.

  • To start, click My Collection on the left sidebar. This will take you to your My Collection page.
  • To add a new item, click the blue Add Item button.
  • This brings up the search dialog box, which functions the same as adding items directly to a resource list.
  • After searching for a resource, click the blue Add to Collection button.
  • When you exit the search box, you should see the new item at the top of your Collection page.
  • Go back to your reading list by clicking Reading Lists on the top left and then selecting your target list.
  • Click the blue Open Collection button.
  • Now your collection list should appear on the right sidebar. The open collection button has changed to Close Collection.
  • To add a resource from your collection to your reading list, click on the resource and drag it into the appropriate place in your reading list.
  • Once you are finished, click Close Collection.