Open Educational Resources (OER)

A Canadian collection of higher education textbooks in the fields of Arts, Business, Health, Science, Social Sciences

A small but growing collection of open educational resources authored by faculty at GVSU and hosted by the university's open-access repository, ScholarWorks@GVSU.

Book Subject Areas: Physical Sciences, Engineering and Technology, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanities

Links are offered to the site's own content on Lumen's Candela Learning catalog and well as content developed by other institutions it has worked with on OER initiatives. Content is made available in HTML format which can be accessed through a school's LMS.

MIT provides an online textbook page along with links to the textbook files used in their online courses. This site is useful for course materials not covered by other sources.

OER Commons provides avenues for you to explore resources, collections, and providers.

UK publishing imprint that provides free online access and low cost formatted and print access to titles with a special emphasis on humanities, digital humanities, and social sciences.

A growing collection of peer-reviewed textbooks in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Openstax is a nonprofit initiative of Rice University.

Currently, SUNY Textbooks offers 22 titles, in a number of subjects, authored and reviewed by State University of New York faculty and published by SUNY libraries.

A curated collection of over 170 high quality open textbooks, many of which are peer-reviewed.

Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks in epub and kindle formats for download or to read them online. There are many classic novels in the collection.

Known for its free courses, the organization also make the curriculum from each course available in downloadable textbook form.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.

A book series comprising peer-reviewed collections of essays on issues specific to writing.

This support resource lists a broad range of open textbooks and open educational resources (OER) organized by academic programs available at McMaster University.

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Directory lists a wide range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that textbooks in the B.C. Open Textbook Collection are not included in this directory.

The Big List is a comprehensive list of OER repositories and search utilities, including complete courses, artwork, multimedia, and open access books.

"The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. Our aim is to create high-quality courses and contribute original research to improve learning and transform higher education."

8,007,019 items from libraries, archives, and museums, as well as numerous apps to enrich the discoverability and use of the collections.

Tens of thousands of academic peer-reviewed books from over 350 publishers.

This list of OER Websites and search tips from the University of Illinois includes repositories of recorded lectures, videos, open textbooks, modular components, complete courses, and other OER search engines.

Georgetown University Library has curated a list of OER for business disciplines. Look to the right-hand column on the page.

The Harvard Open Collections comprises "six subject-specific, web-accessible collections that can support teaching and learning around the world. Today, OCP collections account for over 2.3 million digitized pages, including more than 225,000 manuscript pages."

Open access to a multitude of digital objects and collections in a wide array of formats including books, videos, audio recordings, and web pages.

View video modules in a wide array of disciplines. It is necessary to create a free account to use Khan Academy.

Founded by UC Davis professor Delmar Larsen for Chemistry, LibreTexts has evolved into “a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.” The site now contains resources for thirteen subject areas and its content has been adopted for more than 150 courses.

This utility, from George Mason University Libraries, searches across 16 OER repositories at once. You can add or remove sources to modify your search targets. You can try out the Mason OER Metafinder by typing in a search term below.

Administered by the CSU, MERLOT houses tens of thousands of learning objects and tools for building your own resources. The collection includes books, quizzes, exercises, labs, assessments, and more.

Both a collection of open access publications and a publishing platform with a focus on social sciences and humanities.

OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search) is a search tool recently developed and launched by SUNY Geneseo’s Milne Library.

A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download.

Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural and educational media freely available on the web.

Open Library, an initiative of the Internet Archive, is "an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published." The resource is entirely open--from software to data to documentation. Individuals are encouraged to contribute!

"The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organisation dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). We are funded by an international consortium of libraries who have joined us in our mission to make scholarly publishing fairer, more accessible, and rigorously preserved for the digital future."

A robust library of modules and collections of learning objects. Affiliated with OpenStax textbooks.

A free multimedia art history resource, Smarthistory is now a part of Khan Academy. Smarthistory includes images and videos and is authored by the art history and museum communities.

Open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals, books and data. Ubiquity's publications include titles in disciplines less well represented in open access publishing, such as archeology and anthropology.

Directed by a chemistry professor at UC Davis, this collaborative project focuses on STEM topics and invites students and professors to develop content and then share it. Items offered: labs, homework and worksheets. Current subjects covered: chemistry, biology, geology, statistics, physics, math and solar.

A collaborative effort of the 16 colleges in the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS), originally designed to use as a digital library of learning objects to improve learning for students at WTCS colleges

"The Accessible Image Sample Book, creAccessible Image Sample Book Cover Imageated by the DIAGRAM Content Working Group, is a free online resource that shows you what some of the many options are for creating accessible versions of digital images such as
maps, bar charts, diagrams, mathematical expressions, photographs and more!"

Flexible Learning for Open Education provides resources to personalize the learning experience for diverse learning styles and needs.

ADOD helps create accessible Microsoft Office and Adobe documents

The Affordable Learning Solutions website provides information for those looking to learn about accessibility issues and solutions.

MERLOT encourages its community to build a collection of accessible open educational resources to share.

RoboBraille is "an e-mail and web-based service capable of automatically transforming documents into a variety of alternative formats for the visually and reading impaired."