LibGuides: Political Science: Home

Recommended Databases

Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Authoritative materials on current events affecting the world including news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A great place to start for any research topic. Don't see the PDF Full Text option? Use the Find It @ CSUDH Lib button to access the full text in another library database.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window Articles, reports, and government documents on national and global public policy issues, including public health, the environment, housing, civil rights and international commerce.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window This database provides full length articles on important current events issues which include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, graphics, and resources for additional research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Core journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. Includes some primary sources and book reviews. A great place to find older, digitized issues. Recent issues are not always available in JSTOR.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Country Data

Country data is usually composed of statistics and reports which can include economic indicators, political context, human rights, exports, and other information. These can typically be found through a variety of government and international organization websites. A few recommended resources are listed below.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 265 countries and regions through the CIA's perspective.
UN Human Development Reports
193 country reports on human development indicators such as gender equality, access to education, standard of living, and climate change pressures.
International Data (FRED)
Compiled by Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis and includes many worldwide economic indicators, with links to individual series (such as GDP and CPI) for each country, as well as a detailed description of the data. Descriptions are searchable by title, country, subject, and keyword.
Food and Agricultural Indicators (FAOSTAT)
Country reports on food access, average supply of protein, anemia, access to clean water, land use, and agricultural production compiled by the UN.
IMF Country Information
Reports on the 191 countries in the International Monetary Foundation including trade data, GDP, and inflation.

Creative Commons License

This Political Science Research Guide is licensed under a CC-BY-NC 4.0 Creative Commons License by Carolyn Caffrey.