Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Amalia Medina Castañeda

she/her/hers
Profile Photo
Amalia Medina Castañeda
she/her/hers
Contact:
acastaneda@csudh.edu
Library South 3922
(310) 243-2431
University Archivist
Gerth Archives and Special Collections

As the University Archivist, I manage the acquisition of historical materials and lead records management activities to document all aspects of campus life. I provide leadership for the University Archives in helping faculty, staff and researchers make informed decisions regarding the preservation, access, and use of institutional archival materials.

Education
MLIS, University of California, Los Angeles, 2019
MA, History, California State University, Los Angeles, 2017
BA, Political Science, University of California, Los Angeles, 2011
BA, Women's Studies, University of California, Los Angeles, 2011

Publications
Camacho, Azalea and Amalia Castañeda. (2021). “Fostering an Inclusive Collection Development Policy at California State University, Los Angeles, Archives and Special Collections.” Critical Ethnic Studies in Academic and Research Libraries, edited by Melissa Cardenas-Dow, Kenya S.Flash, and Raymond Pun, Association of College and Research Libraries.

Withorn, Tessa, Gardner, Carolyn Caffrey, Messer Kimmitt, Joanna, Eslami, Jillian, Andora, Anthony, Castañeda, Amalia, Clarke, Maggie. (2020). Library instruction and information literacy 2019. Reference Services Review. 48(4), 601-682.

Baca, Benjamin; Castañeda, Amalia; De La O, Jessica and Jaimes, Mayra. (2016). “Community and Memory: Cal State LA Special Collections and Archives.” Perspectives, 43, 109-116.

Castañeda, Amalia. (2016). “Latinas of the Right: Ethnicity, Assimilation and Twentieth Century Conservatism.” Perspectives, 43, 1-14.

Awards & Fellowships
Andrew W. Mellon Fellowship for Diversity, Inclusion & Cultural Heritage
American Library Association (ALA) Spectrum Scholar
Library of Congress Junior Fellow
CSU Sally Casanova Scholar
Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship

My Guides

Last update: May 7, 2022 112 views
Last update: Oct 27, 2022 411 views

My Subject Specialties

title
Loading...