Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology

This research guide is designed for students in sociology at CSUDH.
Searching a Database

screenshot preview of database video

View this short video for tips on using keywords and connectors in library databases.

WatchIs it peer-reviewed?

Best Databases for Sociology

All Sociology Topics

Education

Criminology

Family, Social Psychology, & Gender

Public Health & Medical Sociology

Accessing Full Text

In SocINDEX:

If you don't see a PDF button or icon, look for a "Find it @ CSUDH Lib"  button on the left side of the page. This will search our full-text options for anywhere we might have the article (such as another database) in a separate page.

socindex

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If a book or article isn’t available through one of the library’s subscriptions, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan is a resource sharing service with libraries across the country that provides research materials at no cost to you. If you're requesting an article or book chapter, you'll receive a copy as a PDF. 

First, check to see if it's available in OneSearch or another library database. Look for the Find It @ CSUDH Lib button. 

Find it @ CSUDH Lib button.

If there is full text or physical copy available, use the link to request it through Interlibrary Loan, or sign in to your Interlibrary Loan account to submit a fill out a request form. 

Link in OneSearch with text, "Request from InterLibrary Loan" and new window icon.
You can also borrow books from other CSU campuses and have them delivered to the CSUDH Library. Look for the Request through CSU+ option in OneSearch