LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Find Articles

What is an empirical research article?

Empirical research articles:

are research based on observed and measured data.
derives knowledge from experience rather than belief or theory.

Normally, empirical articles include:

An Introduction-What is the topic?
A Literature Review
A Methodology- How was the research conducted?
Results-What did the the author conclude? What were the findings?

Recommended Databases

Structural Racism and Police Violence
This collection shares freely accessible articles to support researchers in future scholarship and amplify their critical work; educators as they discuss the impacts of systemic racism with students; and policymakers and advocates in their fight to make sweeping reform.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, books, reports, and other information sources on all topics related to criminal justice including corrections, policing, law, deviant behavior, abnormal psychology, and juvenile justice.
Dates:
1910 - 2014

Material Types and Formats:
Academic Journal, Book / Monograph, Conference Papers and Proceedings, Magazine, Newspaper, Pamphlet, Report, Trade Publication, Working Paper
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in this database include law, policing, security, and terrorism.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Access full text articles from publications with ethnic, minority, and native perspectives. Regional and national coverage of history, news, and culture are available from both popular and scholarly sources.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Search academic, radical, and independent presses for research on Gender and Women's Studies topics. Also a great resource for LGBTQ+ Studies.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative materials on current events affecting the world including news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
Social Justice Suite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A premier online research platform that provides more than 194 million pages of social justice & multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Contemporary social issues with a focus on the U. S. Browse by issue to find topic pages that provide curated lists of viewpoint essays presenting each side of a debate, academic articles, news, statistics, and more about that issue. A great resource for THE 120 & ENG 110/112.
WestLaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal research system for researching primary law (cases, statutes, administrative materials, etc.) and secondary sources (treatises, law reviews, etc.).

Additional Databases and Data

Some of the databases below only have the abstracts. Select the "FIND@CSUDH" button and request it through the catalog. For databases without the "FIND@CSUDH" button, search for the title of the article or report in OneSearch.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This collection focuses on all known U.S. Office of Justice Programs' works and important law enforcement and criminal justice publications.

Crime Statistics from the State of California's Department of Justice
The datasets on this page provide web-based presentations of California criminal justice stastistical data. They provide more flexibility so you may tailor data statistics to your specific inquiry.
Federal Bureau of Investigation's Uniform Crime Reporting
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program generates reliable statistics for use in law enforcement. It also provides information for students of criminal justice, researchers, the media, and the public. The program has been providing crime statistics since 1930.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
NACJD hosts several large-scale datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

OneSearch is a library search tool where you can find almost everything the CSUDH Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books, including textbooks, articles, streaming videos, and more! A great place to start for any research project. You can also use OneSearch to find the full text, borrow books from other CSU libraries, and generate a citation.

Start Tutorial Watch Video