Skip to main content

CSUDH Library Blog

New Exhibit Opens February 3rd!

by Beth McDonald on 2020-02-03T12:53:00-08:00 in Music, Africana Studies | Comments

The Gerth Archives and Special Collections presents “Will the Circle Be Unbroken: The Sacred Music of the African American Diaspora,” an exhibition that explores the role that local African American musicians and their music has played in the cultural institutions of Los Angeles’ black communities. The exhibit will open Feb. 3 in the CSUDH Library Cultural Arts Center.

Donated to the Gerth Archives by Albert McNeil, founder of the celebrated Los Angeles-based choral music ensemble the Albert McNeil Jubilee Singers, and Hansonia Caldwell, emeritus professor of music at CSUDH, the exhibit will also showcase the way music has impacted politics, social structures, and the history of African Americans in Los Angeles and the surrounding area. 

Opening Reception: The Gerth Archives will host a reception for the exhibit Feb. 20, from 4:30 to 6:30 pm. in the CSUDH Library Cultural Arts Center. The event will also honor McNeil and celebrate his 100th birthday with a performance by the Jubilee Singers. 

“Will the Circle Be Unbroken: The Sacred Music of the African American Diaspora” has been curated from the collections that make up CSUDH’s African Diaspora Sacred Music and Musicians (ADSMM) program, and the Georgia and Nolan Payton Archive of Sacred Music. The exhibit is sponsored by Sallyanne Payton, one of the founders of the ADSMM and the Payton archive.

The Payton archive consists of music, books, periodicals, documents, audio and visual materials, posters, and photographs from notable figures in L.A.’s music world, including McNeil, Caldwell, and (deceased) Los Angeles music icons Don Lee White, and Jester Hairston.

The materials in the collections are available for research in the CSUDH Gerth Archives and Special Collections. Additional information about the collections, including finding aids, are available at http://libguides.csudh.edu/archives-topic-sacred-music.

For more information, please visit our Current Exhibitions webpage→ or contact Beth McDonald emcdonald@csudh.edu or Greg Williams gwilliams@csudh.edu at (310) 243-2431.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Recent Posts



New Exhibit Opens February 3rd!
YOU ASKED, WE ACTED! Expanded University Library Hours for Spring Semester 2020
Starting January 21st, the library will open earlier and close later on weekdays, and have expanded weekend hours.
Ready to make the switch to APA 7th ed. this Spring?
The new APA 7th edition here is for Spring 2020! Check out the changes and new library resources to support students and instructors.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Subjects



Africana Studies
Music
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...