CSUDH Library Blog

Changes coming to ERIC Database

Education Resources Information Center, or ERIC, is a comprehensive searchable, bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education and widely used for education students, teachers, administrators, and researchers. In addition to peer-reviewed journals it also contains key documents and reports from think-tanks and state departments of education. 

According to the ERIC Help Desk, the ERIC collection is being significantly reduced effective April 24th 2025:

The Department of Education is working with the Department of Government Efficiency to "reduce overall Federal spending" and "reallocate spending to promote efficiency" (EO 14222). As a result, the number of records added to the ERIC collection will be significantly reduced going forward. The number of actively cataloged sources will be reduced by approximately 45% starting April 24, 2025. Subject matter was not considered during the process to identify which sources would be made inactive. Please note that all records currently in ERIC will remain available. There has been a delay in notifying publishers impacted by this content reduction due to the government reduction in force. Once publishers have been notified, a final list of retained sources (journals and non-journals) will be posted. We will provide more information about this list as soon as possible.

ERIC Help Desk National Center for Education Evaluation,

 Institute of Education Sciences U.S. Department of Education

 Email: ERICRequests@ed.gov”

What does this mean?

• After April 24th, 2025 the 1,283 journals regularly included in ERIC will be reduced to approximately 706 meaning you will see less research and results going forward
• Please note that all records currently in ERIC will remain available. This means that if you ran a search in ERIC previously, those results should remain. Future issues from removed journals will be missing after April 24, 2025.
• Other third party subscription databases use the indexing and metadata from ERIC as part of their own subscription resources. These cuts may also impact other subscription database coverage going forward, however, at this point we don't know. 
• At this point in time we don't know the full list of journals being removed from ERIC. We also don't know if other types of publications will be removed from ERIC in the future.

Additional Coverage of Journals in ERIC

We also have other subscription databases in Education such as Education Full Text and Education Source which include many of the journals indexed in ERIC prior to April 2025. Title Lists for each of these databases can be viewed in on EBSCO's website and a librarian can help you determine where journals are indexed.

Journals Removed From ERIC

Currently grassroots efforts have identified some of the journals being removed from ERIC's indexing and journal editors can submit their journal for inclusion on this list.