Filipino American Collections

The CSUDH Filipino American Digital Archive or "FADA'' launched on March 5, 2022, co-founded by Mary T. Lacanlale, Associate Professor of Asian Pacific Studies, Gregory L. Williams, Director of the Gerth Archives and Special Collections, and the community members. The event brought dozens of local dignitaries, organizations, and members together, including Lula Davis-Holmes, Mayor of City of Carson, Congresswoman Nanette Barragan, U.S. House of Representatives, California's 44th Congressional district, and Edgar B. Badajos, Consulate General of the Philippines, at the Gerth Archives on the 5th floor of the University Library and celebrated the inaguration of the community history project. During the event, the participants deposited their organizational and family archives to FADA, which has been digitized, processed, and maintained by the Gerth Archives. 

Filipinos have been in California since 1903, first as pensionados who studied at universities, as servicemen who settled in Carson in the 1910s, and as agricultural workers during the 1930s. Since the 1960s, new waves of immigrants add to the rich diversity of Filipino American life in California. They built communities, celebrated Filipino traditions, and passed on their legacy to their children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren. 

Dr. Lacanlale acknowledges that the community was the impetus behind establishing the new digital archive. She recalls that the project idea began several years ago when the community members in Carson approached her and Mr. Williams. Later, they initiated FADA, and the Gerth Archives has been engaged in development of FADA collections with community support.  

The first contributors to FADA were Florante Ibanez, author of Filipinos in Carson and the South Bay, and Linda Nietes-Little, founder of the Philippine Expressions Bookshop in San Pedro. Ibanez donated boxes of his photos, newsletters, and other collected items, and Nietes-Little donated memorabilia along with a collectible copy of Carlos Bulosan’s America is in the Heart. 

FADA provides access to digital collections documenting the vital role that Filipino Americans have played in the US, promotes research and education, and preserves Filipino American history for future generations. As an ongoing project, FADA invites community members, descendants, and all to submit archival material to be preserved for safekeeping by the Gerth Archive. The scope of the digital collection is inclusive of any materials related to Filipino Americans and the Philippines. Digital and physical materials can include photos, videos, oral histories, meeting notes, memorabilia, books, and more.

2022 FADA Launch Event Documents

FADA is a community-based project which has been developed with support of the community members. It documents and preserves the history of Filipino Americans in greater Carson and the South Bay as well as national and international regions in scope. 

The Gerth Archives welcomes donations of physical and digital materials that document the history of Filipino Americans. The scope of the digital collection is inclusive of any materials related to Filipino Americans and the Philippines. Digital and physical materials can include photos, videos, oral histories, meeting notes, memorabilia, books, and more. 

Physical materials donated will be archived and preserved. Material is selectively digitized and added to FADA. Materials loaned to the project will be digitized and added to FADA while the original materials will be returned to the owner. A deed of gift is required.

If you are interested in joining the project, please Contact Greg Williams, Director of the Gerth Archives and Special Collections Department, (310) 243-3013 or gwilliams@csudh.edu.

If you have questions regarding the digital collections, please contact Yoko Okunishi, Digital Collections Archivist Librarian, (310) 243-2246 or yokunishi@csudh.edu.