LibGuides: Social Work and Human Services: Research Methods & Research Help

Selected Books on Research Methods

Qualitative Research in Social Work by Anne E. Fortune (Editor); William J. Reid (Editor); Robert L. Miller (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780231535441
Publication Date: 2013-05-21
In this volume, progressive experts survey recent trends in qualitative study, which relies on small sample groups and interview data to better represent the context and complexity of social work practice. Chapters address different approaches to qualitative inquiry, applications to essential areas of research and practice, integration of qualitative and quantitative methods, and epistemological issues. This second edition brings even greater depth and relevance to social work qualitative research, including new material that tackles traditional research concerns, such as data quality, ethics, and epistemological stances, and updated techniques in data collection and analysis. To increase the usefulness for students and researchers, the editors have reorganized the text to present basic principles first and then their applications, and they have increased their focus on ethics, values, and theory. New and revised illustrative studies highlight more than ever the connection between effective research and improved social functioning among individuals and groups. The collection continues to feature scholars and practitioners who have shaped the social work research practice canon for more than twenty years, while also adding the innovative work of up-and-coming talent.
Introduction to Applying Social Work Theories and Methods by Barbra Teater
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780335247646
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
A student-friendly introduction to social work theories and methods, drawing on current social work research.
Social Work Science by Ian Shaw
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780231541602
Publication Date: 2016-04-26
Ian Shaw threads together advances in modern technology, practice skills and evidence-based practice, the history of scientific claims in social work practice, and the methods of social work research to demonstrate the significant role science can play in the management of human emotions and behavior. Shaw links scientific and social work knowledge through the core themes of quality evidence, critical learning and understanding, and the skilled evaluation of the subject.
Doing Qualitative Research in Social Work by Ian Shaw; Sally Holland
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781446252826
Publication Date: 2014-05-16
Bringing key developments and debates together in a single volume, this book provides an authoritative guide for students and practitioners embarking on qualitative research in social work and related fields. Frequently illustrated with contemporary and classic case examples from the authors' own empirical research and from international published work, and with self-directed learning tasks, the book provides insight into the difficulties and complexities of carrying out research, as well as sharing 'success' stories from the field. Shaw and Holland have long experience of writing for practitioners and students and in making complex concepts accessible and readable, making this an ideal text for those engaging in qualitative social work research at any level. Ian Shaw is a Professor of Social Work at the University of York and at the University of Aalborg. Sally Holland is a Reader in Social Work at the School of Social Sciences in Cardiff University.
Evidence Based and Knowledge Based Social Work by Inge M. Bryderup (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9788779346734
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Policymakers in welfare democracies throughout the world are raising questions as to whether welfare systems deliver what the public expects, and focus attention on increasing costs. Social workers need more evidence and knowledge about an increasing diversity of social work practices. Users of social welfare are increasingly individualized and made responsible for choosing and delivering their own service through contracts and this makes politicians, social workers and users more interested in evidence and knowledge about social services, even though these interests are often conflicting. These tendencies might be part of the reasons why the evaluation of social work practice seems to be characterized at present by a variety and diversity of research methods, approaches and theories.
Quantitative Social Research Methods by Kultar Singh
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780761933830
Publication Date: 2007-03-06
Quantitative Social Research Methods explores the entire spectrum of quantitative social research methods and their application, with special reference to the development sector. It provides detailed coverage of all statistical research and analysis method with an emphasis on multivariate analysis techniques, such as regression discriminant analysis, logistic regression, factor, factor, cluster, correspondence and conjoint analysis.The book is thematically arranged in two sections: the first section introduces development research techniques, explores the genesis and scope of social research, research processes and then goes on to explain univariate, bivariate and multivariate data analysis with the help of software packages such as SPSS and STATA. The second focuses on the application of social and development research methods in the development sector. It explores research method application and the issues relevant to aspects of development such as population, health and nutrition, poverty and rural development, education, water and sanitation, and environment and natural resource management.
Innovations in Social Work Research by Louise Hardwick (Editor); et al.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781784501457
Publication Date: 2015-09-21
A valuable reference to help practising researchers not only to understand but also to apply innovative approaches to social work research. Featuring extended case studies of actual research projects, the book provides an overview of a number of central features and qualities of social work research. It incorporates both distinctive methodological features, such as approaches to participatory inquiry, and provides accounts of researcher strategies to address particular challenges, such as carrying out studies with hard to reach populations. This book combines important methodological insights with pragmatic guidance on commonly experienced problems and how these challenges can be overcome. This is a key resource for social work and social care students, social work practitioners and academics engaged in research.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Work Research by Roy Ruckdeschel (Editor); Ian Shaw (Editor); Joan Orme (Editor); Katharine Briar-Lawson (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781412934985
Publication Date: 2009-12-10
The SAGE Handbook of Social Work Research provides a comprehensive, internationally-focused account of leading social work research, offering an original and defining statement on contemporary theory and practice within the field. The groundbreaking Handbook engages critically with the nature and role of social work research and evaluation in contemporary societies around the globe, and asks four key questions: - What is the role and purpose of social work research? - What contexts shape the practice and purpose of social work research? - How can we maximise the quality of the practice of social work research? - How can the aims of social work in its varied domains be met through social work research? Ranging over local, national and international issues, and exploring questions of theory and practice, this is a diverse and constructively organized overview of the field. It will quickly be recognized as a benchmark in the expanding field of social work research, setting the agenda for future work in the arena.
Doing Social Work Research by Smith
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780335240470
Publication Date: 2009-01-09
Social work research is shown to be both a distinctive academic enterprise and a task that can be accomplished effectively in line with the values and ethical principles that lie at the discipline's core. This book introduces and evaluates a wide range of approaches across the spectrum of social work research.
Narrating Social Work Through Autoethnography by Stanley Witkin (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780231537629
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Autoethnography is an innovative approach to inquiry located in the interstices between science and literature. Blending researcher and subject roles, autoethnographers use analytical strategies to explore the social and cultural contexts of meaningful life experiences and their implications for the present. Social issues are described from the inside out, producing narratives that reflect the messy, experiential encounters of everyday life. This collection illustrates the value of autoethnography as an inquiry approach for social work practice. Covering such topics as international adoption, cross-dressing, divorce, cultural competence, life-threatening illness, and transformative change, contributors showcase the ambiguities, doubts, contradictions, insights, tensions, and epiphanies that accompany their experiences. This anthology provides a readable and unique example of an exciting new trend in qualitative research.

Choosing a Topic

When considering ideas for a research topic, it can help to discuss your thoughts with librarians, your professors, and with other experts. In addition, try browsing encyclopedias focused on your field of study. When writing an argumentative paper, you can explore articles in controversial issue databases such as Opposing Viewpoints, linked below.

Explore the sites below for more ideas on choosing a research topic.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Contemporary social issues with a focus on the U. S. Browse by issue to find topic pages that provide curated lists of viewpoint essays presenting each side of a debate, academic articles, news, statistics, and more about that issue. A great resource for THE 120 & ENG 110.

Formulating a Research Question

Once you have selected an initial topic, the next step is to develop a research question. To begin:

Write down what you already know or don't know about the topic.
Using the information you wrote down, develop questions you'd like to answer when doing your research.
- Use probing questions such as why? how? what if? should?
- Avoid questions that can be answered with yes or no.

An example is provided below.

Example: Endangered Species Act

What do or don't I know about the Endangered Species Act (ESA)?

I know it's a law that protects animals, and their habitats, that are in danger of extinction. I believe the law only protects habitats that are within the U.S. boundaries. I know at one point bald eagles and grizzly bears were on the list, but I thought they had been removed. I know there has been a lot of controversy recently about adding polar bears to the list. I don't what it takes for an animal to be removed from the list and I don't know what the penalties are for violating this act.

Research Questions

What was the Endangered Species Act (ESA) designed to protect -- animals only or ecosystems too?
What animals/habitats outside of the United States boundaries are covered by the act?
What other countries have legislation to protect animals/habitats?
What animals are currently on the endangered species list?
How does an animal get added/removed from the list?
What penalties are imposed on those who violate the act?

Begin Topic Development

Develop a general or broad topic from your background reading

From your general topic and readings you can begin to develop a refined topic that will developed into a thesis statement or research question.

If your topic is too broad begin to narrow/refine it by adding an aspect of the topic, a time period, limit it to a location/geography, population, etc.

Below is an example of narrowing the topic:

Prisons

Narrow by	Examples
aspects of the topic	law and legislation overcrowding moral and ethical aspects recidivism rehabilitation reintegration education gangs drugs
time period	20th century 21st century 1970 2000-2016 (a range of years)
geography	United States (or another country) California Los Angeles
population	Teens or Juveniles Hispanic Americans Latinos

Arrive at a researchable thesis or research question
Given your assigned question, how can you arrive at a researchable thesis statement that you can discuss in a well-argued paper?

What is the minimum number of pages expected for the assignment?
Is your thesis statement too broad? Too narrow?

Developing Keywords (8 Minutes)
An interactive tutorial on developing keywords to search academic databases. It covers narrowing, broadening, and other search tips --- including practice with your own research topic. By the end, you'll be ready to search efficiently and effectively and have a printable certificate of completion.

http://library.csudh.edu/tutorials/Developing_Keywords/story.html