It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dr. Hansonia Caldwell (far right) with then CSUDH president John Brownell (center), presenter and actress Ruby Dee (third from right), and presenter and now current CSUDH president Thomas Parham (second from right) at the 1989 Young, Gifted, and Black ceremony.
Albert J. McNeil is an American choral conductor, ethnomusicologist, author, and founder of the Albert McNeil Jubilee Singers. Materials in the collection consist of records, photographs, programs, clippings, press releases, publications, sheet music, and audio and video recordings that document McNeil's work as the director of the Jubilee Singers, his teaching career, work as choral director for various churches, and his personal life. Browse digitized materials.
Dr. Hansonia Caldwell is professor emeritus of music at California State University Dominguez Hills, with academic specialties in music, African-American music history, piano, choral conducting and humanities. She was a faculty member at CSUDH for more than 40 years and founded the CSUDH Jubilee Choir and the African Diaspora Sacred Music and Musicians program. The materials in the Hansonia Caldwell Collection consist of documents, photographs, programs, clippings, press releases, publications, sheet music, and audio and video recordings that document Caldwell's teaching career and professional work, largely at California State University, Dominguez Hills (CSUDH. The collection also contains materials pertaining to her work as the director of the CSUDH Jubilee Choir, the African Diaspora Sacred Music and Musicians program, and her philanthropic and community work. Browse digitized materials.
Jester Hairston was an actor, composer, song writer, arranger, choral conductor, Goodwill Ambassador for the United States, and an expert on Spirituals. Materials created and collected by and about Jester Hairston, and administrative materials related to Hairston's centennial celebration. Materials include manuscripts, music and lyrics, articles, and administrative files.
This collection contains the papers, photographs, videos, and musical recordings related to organist, conductor, and musicologist Dr. Don Lee White. The collection documents African-American church music, church history, and the evolution of spiritual music in African-American churches. It also includes several compilations of hymns along with audio and video recordings of church and classical performances.
Virginia White is one of the original members of the Albert McNeil Jubilee Singers. She performed with the singers from their original concerts and tours in 1968 through the early 2000s. This collection is composed of photographs, posters, programs, tour materials, ephemera, and costumes related to Virginia White's tenure as a member of the Albert McNeil Jubilee Singers. The collection also contains several scrapbooks compiled by fellow Jubilee Singers member Jacquelyn Sebastian.
The collection is comprised of sheet music, choral scores, full and partial scores, manuscript music, music books, and compilations. The music falls primarily into the sacred music genre, including gospels, spirituals, and classical pieces; but also includes a significant amount of secular music, ranging from jazz to popular music to Broadway musicals and operas.
This collection includes sheet music, performance notes, performance programs, chorale rosters, photos, a book, journal articles, correspondence documents, and multimedia related to the Shambrey Chorale. Choral works include early traditional sacred church music and hymns from 16th century styles to contemporary styles, compositions from canonical European composers, traditional negro spirituals, gospel, jazz, musical theater, U.S Patriotic, American Folk Songs, Christmas themes, and Ethnomusicological styles.
The collection is comprised of music, primarily African American sacred music such as gospel and spirituals, in a variety of formats, including sheet music, anthologies, and books. The collection also contains personal papers detailing Jones' education, choral, and church activities, musical education and instructional materials, and music history.