Open Journal Systems (OJS) at CSUDH

Through University Library

• Journal content is indexed by Google and Google Scholar.
• The journal is submitted for ISSN assignment
• Journals are cataloged; records available in WorldCat.
• Journals may be submitted for listing in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory and in major vendor databases 
• Journals appear in the CSUDH institutional repository.
• New journals are announced on University Library social media accounts.
• New issues are announced on University Library social media accounts.

What You Can Do

Before publication

• Make sure articles are optimized for search engines. Here's a brief explanation and some tips from Sage.
• Make sure articles have about 4 to 6 relevant keywords and phrases. For assistance, ask your subject librarian.

After publication

• Promote your journal via social media and other venues (conferences, workshops, etc.)
• Encourage authors to promote their articles via social media and other venues (conferences, poster sessions, etc.)

Indexing

You may wish to have your journal indexed in DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) and/or in other indexes specific to your field. Requirements for indexing can be rigorous; for example, most indexers or abstractors require that a journal be regularly published for at least two years before consideration. Also typically required are peer review, DOIs, and formatting standards that include copyright and identifying information on each article. If you need assistance determining which indexes are most appropriate for your field, please consult your liaison librarian or the Digital Initiatives Librarian. Once you identify the indexes and determine what requirements you need to meet, we can help ensure that your journal setup will meet those requirements.

Open Journal Systems (OJS) uses the OJS/COUNTER metric. It follows processing rules determined by Project COUNTER, which enables publishers and vendors to report usage of their electronic resources in a consistent way. The OJS/COUNTER metric collects statistics on journals, issues, articles, and galleys, and it also uses time and geo-location dimensions so reports can be generated by month, year, city, region, and/or country.

Useful Reports in OJS

• Timed Views Report: includes Article ID, Article Title, Issue, Abstract views, Total Galley Views, PDF (per a specified time range)
• OJS Usage Statistics Report: includes ID, Type, Title, Issue, Journal, Country, Month, Count
• Articles Report: includes Submission ID; Title; Abstract; Author name, country, affiliation, email, URL, bio statement; Section Title; Language; Editor Decision; Status
• Review Report: includes Round, Articles, Submission ID, Reviewer ID, Reviewer name, Dates (assigned, notified, confirmed, completed, reminded), Declined, Cancelled, Recommendation, Comments

NOTE: Availability of data, e.g., for Review Report, depends on the workflow you are using and setup choices in OJS.

NOTE: OJS changed the metric they were using in late 2015. If your journal was publishing with us before that time, some reports cover only the period since then. Please contact us at ejournals@bc.edu if you need more information.

Custom Reports

You can also create your own reports in OJS. There are several templates available and, using the advanced options, you can generate your own custom reports.

Google Analytics

Our OJS journals are also enrolled in Google Analytics, which collects statistics at the journal website level, e.g., number of hits; number of countries accessing; sessions, users, page views. If you are interested in accessing this information, please let us know during journal setup or email us at ejournals@bc.edu.