LibGuides: Earth Science and Geography: Web Resources

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool where you can find scholarly sources like peer-reviewed articles, dissertations, theses, and books with Google's simple look and feel. Add CSUDH in Library Links to connect Google Scholar to OneSearch to get the full text through our library subscriptions. You can also use Google Scholar to find freely available PDFs, trace citations, look up authors profiles and journal metrics, and generate a citation.

Watch Video

Free Maps Resources

Online Maps at the Library of Congress
Digitized historical maps dating as far back as the 12th century CE.
California Atlas
- This link opens in a new window
Originally created by a group of students at Humboldt State, this atlas of California is a 50-page teaching resource with over 100 original maps, diagrams and tables.
more...less...
All pages of the map are available for download or use online. Included on the site are suggested Atlas Lesson Plans and Storymaps.
Topo View
- This link opens in a new window
Interactive open source mapping platform that allows users to easily find historic map scans from the USGS's Historical Topographical Map Collection. Maps in the collection were published between 1884 and 2006.
National Geologic Map Database
Compiled by the US Geological Survey - contains over 90,000 maps in the catalog; geologic names, charts and guidelines that can be searched by state/area and geologic age; historical topographic maps and more.

Open Access Reports and Articles

U.S. Government Printing Office MetaLib Search
MetaLib, a service of the catalog of the U.S. Government Publications (CGP), provides users access to U.S. Federal Government resources such as catalogs, reference databases, subject-based databases, and digital repositories.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
- This link opens in a new window
The Biodiversity Heritage Library makes literature from the global biodiversity community available around the world.
Field Book Project
- This link opens in a new window
The Field Book Project strives to increase the accessibility of researcher's notes by digitizing their field books and making them searchable.
NASA articles in PubSpace
- This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed public access papers resulting from NASA-funded research.
Trail: Technical Report Archive & Image Library
Digitized technical reports from US Government Agencies going back to the early 1900s.
US Federal Scientific Collections
Browse or search through US Federal Scientific Institutional and Project Collections from a variety of federal institutions. Institutions included include the Smithsonian, USDA, Dept. of Veteran's Affairs, and others.

Geography and Earth Sciences Statistics Resources

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
USGS provides science research and statistics about water, energy, minerals and other natural resources and the health of our environment and ecosystems.
World Bank
Free and open access to global development data.
NASA Global Climate Change
NASA provides statistics and fact sheets about climate change.
figshare
figshare is a repository where institutions, publishers and researchers can make their data available in a citable, sharable and discoverable manner.
NPG Scientific Data
Use this tool to explore open data sets from the Nature Publishing Group.
UCLA Geospatial Resources