LibGuides: History: Find Articles

Best Databases for History Research

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary resources, including scholarly articles, about the history of the United States and Canada.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles on world history from 1450 to the present. Don't see the PDF Full Text option? Use the "Find It @ CSUDH Lib" button to access the full text in another library database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. Includes some primary sources and book reviews. A great place to find older, digitized issues. Recent issues are not always available in JSTOR.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A great place to start for any research topic. Don't see the PDF Full Text option? Use the Find It @ CSUDH Lib button to access the full text in another library database.

Best Databases for Civil Rights Research

Digital Library on American Slavery
The Digital Library on American Slavery is an expanding resource compiling various independent online collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface.
Rosa Parks Papers
The papers of Rosa Parks (1913-2005) span the years 1866-2006, with the bulk of the material dating from 1955 to 2000. The collection, which contains approximately 7,500 items in the Manuscript Division, as well as 2,500 photographs in the Prints and Photographs Division, documents many aspects of Parks's private life and public activism on behalf of civil rights for African Americans.
more...less...
The collection is on loan to the Library for ten years through the generosity of the Howard G. Buffett Foundation. The Library received the materials in late 2014, formally opened them to researchers in the Library’s reading rooms in February 2015, and now has digitized them for optimal access by the public.
University of Mississippi Civil Rights Collection
The University of Mississippi's Civil Rights Archive contains digitized versions of small collections related to the struggle for civil rights in Mississippi and the American South.
more...less...
Collections date from Reconstruction to the late 20th century. Major topics represented include the Freedmen's Bureau, school integration, voter registration, labor, and religious activism.
Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse
The Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects documents and information from civil rights cases across the United States. It is available to scholars, teachers, students, policymakers, advocates, and the public, to allow greater understanding of historical and contemporary American civil rights litigation.

OneSearch is a library search tool where you can find almost everything the CSUDH Library owns or subscribes to on one platform. Use OneSearch to find books, including textbooks, articles, streaming videos, and more! A great place to start for any research project. You can also use OneSearch to find the full text, borrow books from other CSU libraries, and generate a citation.

Start Tutorial Watch Video

Accessing Library Resources Off-Campus

If you're following a permalink from your instructor in Blackboard, a library database link, or a full text link in OneSearch, you will be prompted to log in to the CSUDH Authentication Service using your CSUDH username and password. Or, sign in to My Account in OneSearch.

Trouble logging in? Check that you are not mistyping your username or password, try clearing your browser cookies and cache, or reset your password at password.csudh.edu.

If you have questions about resetting your password, please contact the IT Help Desk or call (310) 243-2500.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If a book or article isn’t available through one of the library’s subscriptions, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan is a resource sharing service with libraries across the country that provides research materials at no cost to you. If you're requesting an article or book chapter, you'll receive a copy as a PDF.

First, check to see if it's available in OneSearch or another library database. Look for the Find It @ CSUDH Lib button.

Find it @ CSUDH Lib button.

You can also borrow books from other CSU campuses and have them delivered to the CSUDH Library. Look for the Request through CSU+ option in OneSearch.

For more information about borrowing books from the library, check out the Library's "Borrowing Materials" page.