If the research materials you need are not available at CSUDH, our library will try to get it for you at no cost to you. You can access research materials through one of two resource sharing networks: CSU+ or Interlibrary Loan.
CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan services are limited to registered students, faculty, emeritus faculty, and staff of CSUDH. Alumni and community borrowers that have limited library borrowing privileges are not eligible.
Rapido is the way to request books, book chapters, and articles from other California State University campuses and other libraries. You are able to request most things through OneSearch. This resource sharing service is only available for CSUDH students, faculty, and staff
To request books from CSUDH:
If you know the book but not the exact chapter title:
If you know the title of the chapter
To request an articles from CSUDH
If you cannot find an item by searching, you have the option of filling out the Blank ILL Form. You can get to the form from OneSearch by first searching for a title > click on the "Click here to include results outside the library's database" link > click on the "Still didn't find what you need? Send a request" link
If you something that is NOT a book, book chapter, or article, you can use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to place requests for articles, books, book chapters, or other materials. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a library service that provides access to books and articles that are not available at CSUDH. Our library collaborates with other institutions around the country to obtain materials to have them delivered to you at CSUDH or electronically on the web. ILL services are free for currently enrolled students, staff, faculty, and emeriti faculty and staff.
To ensure that you receive your requested material on time, please submit requests at least two weeks before you need the materials.
If you know what research material you need:
Log into your ILL account and fill out the request form with as much information as possible.
If you are unsure of the research material you need:
Browse our resources, and if what you need is not available at CSUDH, you will see a link to submit your request:
OneSearch: The Rapido option to request items will automatically display when an item is not available at CSUDH. Remember to log into your library account to place a request.
Article Databases: Use your preferred article database to locate the article record and click on “Request from CSUDH.”
WorldCat: This is a global library catalog that allows you to search thousands of library catalogs with a single search. Once you’ve located the record for the material you want, click on “Request from CSUDH.”
If you would like additional assistance, contact our office and ILL staff can help you with submitting your requests or submit it for you.
For more information about loan periods and renewals, eligible and ineligible items for request, and other policies regarding Interlibrary Loan Services, please see our Interlibrary Loan policies page.
The CSUDH Library uses ILLiad to track Interlibrary Loan requests. Log into your ILL account with your CSUDH username and password to access your request history, request item renewals, and also view and download electronically-delivered journal articles and book chapters.
You will be notified by e-mail when your requested physical items arrive at the CSUDH Library. Check them out by bringing your current CSUDH ID or form of government-issued photo ID with current address information to the Course Reserves Desk (see map).
Please note that some materials cannot be checked out or removed from the CSUDH Library at the request of the lending library. These items can be reviewed in-library only.
Requested articles are delivered electronically through your Interlibrary Loan account, and you will receive a notification email when they are available for download. Electronic items disappear from your list automatically after 30 days, so make sure to download and save them!
CSU+ items can be checked out for 60 days with no renewal, and count toward your maximum number of materials checked out through your main library account.
Interlibrary Loan lending periods are determined by the lending library and range from two to eight weeks. The average loan period is approximately two to three weeks. While there is no limit for items requested through Interlibrary Loan, we ask that you request items that you can reasonably use in the timeframe allotted for your loan.
Not all items are eligible for renewals. To request a renewal of your Interlibrary Loan material, you must select the "request renewal" option under your ILL account. Renewals cannot be processed manually by ILL staff.
For information on fines and fees for overdue or lost CSU+ or ILL materials, view our Overdue and Replacement Charges policy.
For additional information, call (310) 243-3716 or email ill2@csudh.edu. You may also contact Kim Patton, Resource Sharing Specialist, at kpatton@csudh.edu or (310) 243-3687.
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials.
Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research". If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use", that user may be liable for copyright infringement.
This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.
Other libraries seeking items from CSUDH University Library may use the 3-digit OCLC code CDH to make requests, or contact us via email at ill2@csudh.edu.
Materials from the Gerth Archives & Special Collections do not circulate through ILL. Please contact them directly: https://libguides.csudh.edu/archives-policies