Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About the Library

Borrower Responsibilities

Borrowers should take care in the handling of all library materials. It is the responsibility of the borrower to return materials on time or to renew before the due date. All materials must be returned to either the Book Checkout Desk, the Course Reserves Desk, or one of the return bins. There are three return bins located outside the library. Course Reserves, CSU+, and Interlibrary Loan materials must be returned to the Course Reserves Desk.

As a courtesy, email notices are automatically generated and sent to borrowers regarding overdue items, fines, and holds. It is the responsibility of the borrower to monitor email from the library. Failure to receive this notice is not grounds for the cancelation of fines. All library notices are sent via campus-issued email when possible. It is your responsibility to keep the library informed of changes of mailing address and email address.

  • Note due dates for materials borrowed from the CSUDH Library
  • Renew or return borrowed materials on or before the due date
  • Return materials to the Book Checkout Desk or Course Reserves Desk or the return bins on or before the due date
  • Return overdue materials to the Book Checkout Desk or the return bins immediately
  • Return course reserve materials at the Course Reserves Desk
  • Exercise care in handling all library materials
  • Report damage of library materials prior to checkout
  • Monitor email notices from the library regarding overdue items, fines, holds, etc
  • Be accountable for all activity that takes place on your library account
  • Pay any applicable fees or fines for any lost, damaged, or overdue materials through the CSUDH Cashier's Office and provide a receipt with proof of payment to Library User Services staff through the Course Reserves Desk
  • Have a current email address on file
  • Notify Library User Services staff of any address and email changes
  • Notify Library User Services staff if your CSUDH or library card is lost or has been stolen

Overdue and Replacement Charges

Fines and Fees

Borrowers are responsible for returning or renewing items by their due date. Although the library will send a reminder notice or overdue notice as a courtesy, it is the responsibility of each borrower to know when his or her materials are due. Borrowers are also responsible for informing the library about changes to their mailing and email addresses. Failure to receive a courtesy notice is not grounds for the cancellation of fines. Unpaid fines and fees for items will result in a hold on your general CSUDH account, which may prevent you from registering for classes, applying for graduation, or otherwise separating from the University. Replacement bills are issued when patrons fail to return or renew checked out materials. 

Item Type Fine Accrual Grace Period Replacement Bill Date

General Collection, CSU+, Interlibrary Loan

n/a

14 days

28 days after due date

2-Hour and 4-Hour Reserves

$1.00 per hour per item

n/a

1 day (24 hours)

2-Day and 4-Day Reserves $1.00 per item per day n/a 7 days (1 week)

Replacement Bills

Books from the general collection are considered lost and are billed for replacement 28 days after the due date. Reserve materials are considered lost and billed at an accelerated rate based upon their due dates. Each bill includes the following: a bill processing fee, a replacement charge for the item, and the maximum overdue fine per item. The current replacement fee for items from the general collection is $65.00 per item or the actual cost of the item, whichever is higher. Neither the bill processing fee nor the maximum overdue charge is refundable.

Cost of the Item Replacement Cost Processing Fee Maximum Overdue Charge Total Replacement Charge

$65.00 or less

$65.00

$20.00

$25.00

$110.00

Greater than $65.00

Item Cost

$20.00

$25.00

Item Cost +$45.00

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan
Books from CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan are considered lost and are billed for replacement 28 days after the due date. Each bill includes the following: a bill processing fee, a replacement charge for the item, and the maximum overdue fine per item. The current replacement fee for items from CSU+ is $90.00 per item, and the replacement fee for items from Interlibrary Loan is set by the lending library. Neither the bill processing fee nor the maximum overdue charge is refundable.

Service Replacement Cost Processing Fee Maximum Overdue Charge Total Replacement Charge

CSU+

$90.00

$20.00

$25.00

$135.00

Interlibrary Loan

Item Cost set by Lending Library

$20.00

$25.00

Item Cost +$45.00

Materials billed for replacement which are returned within 6 months of the original due date will have the replacement charge reduced to the Bill Processing fee ($20.00) plus the maximum overdue fine ($25.00). Note that in some cases, a patron may avoid replacement charges by supplying the library with a replacement copy of the same volume/edition or an acceptable substitute. For more information regarding acceptability of a replacement, contact Wendolyn Vermeer, Collection Services Coordinator, by email or telephone (310) 243-3134.

Interlibrary Loan

Eligible Borrowers

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan services are limited to registered students, faculty, emeritus faculty, and staff of CSUDH. Alumni and community borrowers that have limited library borrowing privileges are not eligible.

Eligible Items

The following items can usually be requested through Interlibrary Loan (ILL):

  • Books
  • Some dissertations and theses
  • Journal articles
  • Book chapters
  • Microfilm
  • Music scores
  • Some audiovisual materials

Ineligible Items

The following items cannot be requested via ILL:

  • Titles owned by the CSUDH Library that are not checked out
    • If an item you want is checked out, you can attempt to borrow another copy using CSU+, if it is available from another CSU library or place an ILL request if it is not due back within several weeks.
  • Most textbooks
    • Most libraries place their textbooks on reserve, which means they cannot be loaned to patrons from other libraries via interlibrary loan.
  • Most recently published books
    • Books published within the current calendar year are often not available through interlibrary loan. The newer the book, the fewer libraries will own it, and many libraries will not loan out very new books to other libraries.
  • Some dissertations and theses
    • This is due to copyright restrictions placed by the authors.
  • Entire issues of periodicals, such as scholarly journals
    • Please request the individual article(s) that you require, and not an entire journal issue.
  • Reference materials, rare books, and archival materials
  • Some audiovisual materials
  • Software, hardware, and entire e-books
    • Some e-book chapters may be eligible for loan.

Interlibrary Loan items may not be borrowed in order to put on course reserve or similar long-term use. To suggest a purchase for the Library's collections, please use our purchase request form.

Textbook Policy

Textbooks cannot normally be borrowed through ILL. Textbooks are often difficult to obtain, and cannot be borrowed for the entire semester. Most libraries place their textbooks on reserve at their institution, which means they cannot be loaned out. If the title is available through CSUDH Library's Course Reserves collection, the request will be canceled and the requester will be referred to Course Reserves for access to the resource.

Copyright Restrictions

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials.

Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research". If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use", that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.