The University Library organizes exhibitions of scholarly and historic resources from the library collections, possibly supplemented by objects from personal collections of guest curators and art and related materials. Exhibitions serve the library's mission to support and enrich the instructional, research, and public service missions of the university. All exhibits are free to the public.
An exhibits committee of CSUDH library faculty and staff plans and oversees a rotating roster of exhibits in the library. Exhibits are designed to be student focused, reflecting the diversity of our campus and communities and highlighting elements of our physical and online collections. The Exhibits Committee makes decisions related to exhibit spaces, content, and installation; reviews and approves exhibit proposals from the greater CSUDH community; seeks out exhibit ideas and partners; maintains an exhibits calendar; and manages exhibit supplies.
University Library exhibition venues include the following:
Decisions regarding use of the Library Gallery (LIB 1940) and the Multicultural gallery are made in conjunction with the Library Dean and the Director of Archives and Special Collections. Exhibitions in these spaces are available for community groups but exhibition planning takes place several years in advance. The use of exhibition cases in the Archives and Special Collections Reading Room are the responsibility of the Director of Archives and Special Collections. This also applies to exhibition cases adjacent to the entrance to the Archives Reading Room.
The Exhibits Committee may consider additional requests to display materials in areas not currently included in the list of exhibit spaces.