University Archives Finding Aids
University Archives Finding Aids
Finding aids in the CSUDH Collections database. What is a Finding Aid?
CSUDH Origins Research Guide
CSUDH Origins Research Guide
Guide to collections regarding CSUDH origins and campus history.
BrowseUniversity Archives Digital Collection
University Archives Digital Collection
A curated selection of photographs from the CSUDH Photographic Collection available in our digital collections database.
BrowseCSUDH University Archives
- CSUDH Presidents
- the Academic Senate
- academic departments
- student experiences
- the establishment of the university
The CSUDH Archives also contains collections that chronicle the history of the campus, from its origin as South Bay State in 1960, as demonstrated by the original A. Quincy Jones plans for a site on the Palos Verdes Peninsula that was later abandoned, to the University's present name and location, which were established in 1966.
The CSUDH Transformational Excellence Initiative, 2012-2030 is a project of the University Library and the Gerth Archives and Special Collections Department that seeks to capture DH’s transformation into a model urban university.
To learn more about donating/transferring materials to the University Archives, please visit the University Archives and Records Management Guide or contact Amalia Medina Castañeda (University Archivist), acastaneda@csudh.edu.
Collection Highlights
Collection Highlights
The collection includes materials related to the creation of California State College (later University), Dominguez Hills. Reports, correspondence, legislative bills, studies, maps, photographs, and news clippings document the state of California’s decision to build a college in the South Bay area of Los Angeles County. There are also papers, correspondence, and news clippings related to the college gathered by A. Quincy Jones, the Master Architect for the campus.
Includes records from the administrations of Leo Cain, Donald Gerth, Richard Butwell, John Brownell, Robert Detweiler and others.
Includes records CSUDH Campus catalogs and class schedules from CSUDH General session, Summer session, Extended Education, and Statewide nursing program. Follow this link to view the entire collection
Contact Us
For questions about collections or to make an appointment, contact us at: