Selected Images
1910 Los Angeles International Aviation Meet Research Collection
Image of planes, balloons, and dirigibles in flight over the grandstand during the grande finale of the 1910 Los Angeles International Aviation Meet, 1910.
Long Beach Fireman's Historical Museum Photographs Collection
Damaged plane rests on fuselage after emergency landing at Long Beach Airport. Fuel leaks out onto Runway 16L. Crash truck in background as firefighters unroll hose to prepare to spray foam over site, June 25, 1969.
1910 Los Angeles International Aviation Meet Research Collection
Replica of 1910 Aviation Meet pennant, circa 1910.
Long Beach Fireman's Historical Museum Photographs Collection
Image of a Piper N5349T plane wedged into wall of Spanish-style home following crash, undated.
1910 Los Angeles International Aviation Meet Research Collection
A group of aviators. Front row, from left: Hillery Beachey, Col. Frank Johnson, Glenn Curtiss, Louis Paulhan, Charles Willard, Didier Masson, Lincoln Beachey, Roy Knabenshue, Charles Hamilton, 1910.
1910 Los Angeles International Aviation Meet Research Collection
Roy Knabenshue in flight over fields in a dirigible, 1910.
Collection Descriptions
- 1910 Los Angeles International Aviation Meet Research Collection (1909-1999; undated)This collection contains materials related to the 1910 Los Angeles Aviation Meet that took place on Dominguez Family lands in January 1910. This event introduced aviation to the West Coast and led to eventual large scale aviation businesses in the Los Angeles area. Browse Digitized Materials.
- Aviation Magazine Collection (circa 1940s)This collection contains World War II era aviation periodicals such as Flying (1941-1945), Air News (1944-1945) and Air Trails Pictorial (1944-1945).
- Giacinta Bradley Koontz Aviation Sheet Music Collection (1905-1927)This collection contains seventeen pieces of sheet music featuring songs with aviation-related themes from the start of the 20th century. Also included are two felt banners which are reproductions of banners created for the International Aviation Meet, Nassau Boulevard L.I. held in 1911; and Belmont Club of America, Belmont Park Aero Meet held in 1910.
- Long Beach Fireman’s Historical Museum Photographs Collection (1840-1971)This collection contains negative and photographic prints documenting the history of the Long Beach Fire Department. Images focus on department personnel, apparatus, fire, fire prevention, and also include images taken of airplane crashes. Browse Digitized Materials
- Northrup Millar Collection (1804-1989)This collection contains articles, clippings, reprints, brochures, reports, photographs, books, and other material collected by Richard Millar, a former chairman of Northrop Corporation. Material in this collection relates to aviation and the airline industry in the 20th century.
Selected Books
- The 1910 Los Angeles International Aviation Meet byCall Number: please see Archives Staff for access to this book.Publication Date: 2009
Early Aviation in Long Beach by Call Number: SpColF869.L7 #S35 2009ISBN: 0738570834Publication Date: 2009-09-09- First flight above the Pacific: Commemorative Shoreline byCall Number: SpCol TL721.6.D65 F57 1998Publication Date: 1998
